Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking to get Bell TV (yes new subscriber) but I'm wondering if there are any deals on at the moment? I thought I heard on the radio 2 years free HDPVR rental, but all I see online is 12 months free rental. I'd also go for a good price on a purchased HDPVR, but all I see is 499-200 credit. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
6 Posts
2 year free HD PVR rental?

Is there any way to get a two year HD PVR rental with bell as a new customer? I know you can if you want internet or phone with them, but I don't. I also you can as a retention thing, but I'm new to bell. Any Suggestions?

David

·
Registered
131 Posts
I also have been looking into joining bell as well, this is the first I even heard about the free HDPVR rental, but yes the best deals out there seem to be buy a HD PVR for $499 and you get $200/credit or add a second HD box for $199 and you then get $300/credit.

·
Registered
7,131 Posts
Be aware that accepting special offers and free installation with Bell TV locks you into a 2 year contract. The 2 year free rental is a good deal since you can haggle for a similar deal (with Bell or another BDU) when the contract expires. HD equipment will probably be better and cheaper in two years as well. Buying is only a good deal if rental costs will be incurred during the life of the contract. In that case, compare the net cost of the equipment minus the probable resale price with the total cost of rental during contract and the possible rental or purchase costs past the end of contract.

·
Registered
131 Posts
So bob are you saying that for me, it would maybe be better to rent the HD PVR and buy the the HD box? Keep in mind it's a two year deal, and yes the first year's rent is free but the second year it's $20/month. So 20 X 12= $240.00 in rent for the second year of your contract.