Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I am new to the satellite world, I am having Bell TV installed tomorrow by there installers. They told me they will install 4 receivers at time of install but because the two I am getting from them are HD PVR's they each count as two. I have 3 bell receivers that I own that I want in my kids rooms on the top floor. How do I wire more then 4 receivers? I want 3 on the top floor, 1 on the main and 1 in the basement. Please keep it simple and cheap if possible lol.

Thanks guys(and gals)

·
Registered
10,007 Posts
Welcome to the Forums.

Well you raise an interesting question as now that Bell are using DPP Twin LNBF's and DPP Separators, the installation will be done with only 2 lines into your house, one per receiver. There also appears to be a slight chage of policy with Bell TV lately, which maybe some of the active installers on this Forum can confirm, which is that as a Rental Installation, it is limited to 4 TUNERS (NOT Receivers). I have heard this several times in the last few days, as yet not confirmed by any of the Managers I speak with.

As there will only be 2 lines into your house I would try to get them to run them into a common point so it will be easier for you to add switch's in the future for your other receivers.

If you do not want to run 2 more lines from the Dish into the house you will need to buy a couple of DPP33 switch's (Not supplied or carried by Bell). These can be connected to the 2 lines coming in, with 2 of the output ports then used for your HD PVR's. Leaving 6 spare ports for your other receivers.

If you choose to run 2 more lines into the house, you can use this thread for wiring information;

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=79134

However do not forget, if you opt for this route, you will also need to run another line to each of the HD PVR's and remove the DPP Separators.

·
Registered