Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

401 - 420 of 722 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
71 Posts
Not an elegant solutioin, but couldn't you just set up a particular channel to record at a particular time for a sufficient period of time to ensure you get the complete program you want recorded? E.g., set up channel 1201 to record from 7:55 pm to 9:05 pm, thereby getting the regularly scheduled "8 pm" show and making sure you're covered if it starts a little early or ends a little late?
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
16,419 Posts
It's possible to set a timed recording for a channel, but it's a one-time thing. You can't set it to record more than once.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
160 Posts
I just noticed that the channel preview in the guide is no longer working as it just shows a black box. Has anyone else seen or heard about this before?
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
16,419 Posts
cipher, if it only happens on some channels, then it's probably a problem at Bell. Do you have more than 1 STB you can test?

You can try restarting everything. Unplug the power for your modem, PVR and STBs. Restart each one in the following order: modem, PVR, STBs, allowing each one to fully start before going to the next.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
160 Posts
cipher, if it only happens on some channels, then it's probably a problem at Bell. Do you have more than 1 STB you can test?

You can try restarting everything. Unplug the power for your modem, PVR and STBs. Restart each one in the following order: modem, PVR, STBs, allowing each one to fully start before going to the next.
I was going to do this tonight, but when I turned on the box the preview channels were working again! Bell probably fixed the issue at their end or the box rebooted and the issue went away.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Fibe TV (FTTN) service problems and question

I had Bell Fibe (FTTN) installed 1 May and have experienced serious problems., culminating with a complete loss of service since Friday at 9:30PM. Problems initially were pixilating and sound breakup, which became progressively worse.

We have had 3 visits by techs, and one by a lineman. It appears the current root issue is the copper connecting my home to the Fibre Node in the neighbourhood. Line crew is supposed to be working the issue today. They have ruled out Connection Hub to PVR and Receiver problems as they confirmed signal transmission problems to the Hub.

Inside techs have replaced the Connection Hub, changed the connection to the Fibre node and done 3 line speed tests and indicate it appears "acceptable", but not good. One tech left us a Record of work completed with a note “All test ok @ 37743/8124kbs”. They have talked about download speeds being potential problem and our numbers and preferred mentioned
My wife and I are rapidly approaching the end or our rope and contemplating terminating all Bell Fibe services. Before doing so I’d like to have some objective numbers to base the decision on.
What I’m looking for is line speed numbers, for a Fibe TV FTTN install, that will ensure reliable quality service. With that, if the line tests do not exceed that number I can cancel the service confident Bell is unable to provide Fibe TV service to our house and no amount of tech visits and calls to Fibe TV tech support is going to improve the situation.
Any insight that can be provided on what line speeds are required would be appreciated.
BTW: Internet speed tests with Speedtest.net consistently provide 15Mbps results. I understand that TV signals and Internet traffic have different “performance” profiles

Golferwayne
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
16,419 Posts
GolferWayne, it seem the issue isn't the line speed, but probably an intermittent line problem. You have 37 Mbps. Watching 3 HD and 1 SD channels would use 22 Mbps, leaving 15 Mbps for Internet. Just for a frame of reference, watching one individual HD channel only uses 6.5 Mbps and TV also gets priority over Internet usage. If you had a had a faster line, you would be eligible for 25 Mbps Internet, which is why Bell is telling you that your line speed is "acceptable", but could be better.

If the problem happens when you are watching 1 channel and not doing anything on the Internet, then it's definitely not a speed issue.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
138 Posts
Golferwayne: :(
Did the problems include the Bell land line? I recently had a much less significant outage that included the phone service, indicating to Bell that the problem was with the copper line from my house to the pole.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
John769:
The problem was only with FibeTV.

Had a visit from a cable and inside tech on Monday 13 May. After checking all inside connections again and finding no problems I mentioned the total outage followed the switch to a new port on the Fibe-Copper node in our area. The cable tech got on the phone and got the configuration of the node changed to reflect my line on the new port. This finally restored our service.

We were able to watch problem free TV for two nights, then got more pixellated and sound outages Thursday night. I went back to my log of problems, and since the 1 May have had pixellating on 7 of 14 days of service. Five of the days pixellating occurred between 10:30 and 11:00. Another love in with Bell FibeTV tech support lies ahead.

Dave: I'm now satisfied the issue is not bandwidth, but having read through many posts going back to 2010 I'm leaning to a CO problem. With every previous pixellated problem the techs have been able to confirm the Connectin Hub received (?) pixellated data streams.

When / If this gets fixed I'll update to assist others.

PS: I'm in Ottawa, Champlain Park area. A relatively new FibeTV coverage area.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
145 Posts
Just got fibe tv two days ago and overall the service has been great but On demand programming is useless. It freezes once a min for a few seconds. Anyone else have an issue?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
957 Posts
On Demand fine here in Whitby. Perhaps adding your location to your profile would help others in your area respond.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
145 Posts
West end Toronto. There was an auto message about serves being worked in in my area when I called.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
957 Posts
Outage in Whitby

Last night, June 24th I lost signal just into the second period of the hockey game for 2 minutes and then once again later about 4:20 a.m. Did anyone else experience this in Whitby?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
302 Posts
My internet went down effectively taking everything offline, tech came the next day and repaired the issue (circuit was grounded), my complaint is not about that as stuff happens but...

Anybody know why do you lose the ability to watch your recorded shows? I asked the tech and he didn't even know that would happed
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
16,419 Posts
dunlop, Mediaroom does a key exchange for each program with a server at Bell's head end before it plays the show. It's part of the digital rights management, so even if you hacked the encryption on the hard drive, you still wouldn't be able to play the program.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
302 Posts
Makes sense, thanks for the info

With netflix and video on demand I have not purchased a DVD or BluRay in forever..the kids were quite traumatized ; )
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
74 Posts
There any way to turn that, I'll call it a screen-saver, off?
I like to leave the TV on for long periods and to keep coming into the room and seeing that PRESS SELECT TO RETURN TO BELL FIBE is a pain in the ...
 
401 - 420 of 722 Posts
Top