Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have audio over a DVI connection.
Yes, I know that's impossible, but it's true!

I've been developing HTPC project for about 9 months now, and I'm nearly done. I recently upgraded my mother board to a Biostar TA690G. While I was doing my Windows XP install, I had the following connections to my PC:
ethernet - to my router
VGA - to my secondary LCD monitor
Power - duh!
Cable TV coax - from the wall to my DVICO Fusion card
Mouse - USB
Keyboard - PS2
DVI - Using a RocketFish DVI-HDMI cable to my ViewSonic N3735W (my primary screen)

So imagine my surprise when Windows booted and I heard the familiar Windows Start noise over my 5.1 speakers!

I quickly double checked my connections, and sure enough, NOTHING ELSE was connected.

I fired up FusionHDTV and sure enough, crystal clear sound!

Next I looked at my Sound Blaster Extigy, which I use in stand-alone mode as a Dolby Digital Decoder.

The only thing hooked up to it was my ViewSonic N3735W via via optical/TOSlink S/PDIF.

I quickly realized the only way the PC was connected to the Extigy was by way of the TV. And to confirm my hypothesis, disconnecting the DVI cable or the TOSlink cut off the sound, as did turning off the TV.

I can only surmise that since the DVI and HDMI ports on my motherboard are both driven off the same bus, that the system must output the same audio-stream to both ports, and since I'm using the DVI-HDMI cable, the TV picks up the audio as it would from any other HDMI source.

I actually rather like this setup as I was already running audio from my PS3 the same way (HDMI-TV-TOSlink-Extigy). It saves the S/PDIF coax I used to run from my PC to the Extigy, so less cable clutter, plus now when I turn off the TV it automatically cuts audio from the PC, so I don't have to close/stop FusionHDTV or mute the volume when I'm done watching.