Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using Telus Optik for about 5 years with the CIS430 PVR and Actiontec V1000H modem/router. Generally everything has worked OK. However for audio until recently I have been using a 2.1 speaker system (stereo plus a small subwoofer), so I have been unaware of any possible problems with the surround channels for Dolby 5.1. This setup with 40" TV is in the family room.

Recently I added a second TV and Denon AVR with 5.1 speaker setup in the living room. The TV is a Sony XBR55X700D (55" 4K capable). This system is fed from a 25 foot HDMI cable connected to the CIS430 PVR which still runs the family room TV. All video sources are HDMI and go into the Denon AVR which is connected to the TV by HDMI.

I now connect the original 40" TV to the PVR with component video cables, so the PVR runs both TVs. Actually the PVR also feeds a third TV (20" in kitchen) by composite video.

What I've noticed with the living room setup is there is usually no audio from the surround channels, or very low volume surround audio. The Denon receiver tells me there is usually Dolby Digital sound or Dolby Surround with all 5 channels active (L/R, center, SR/SL, LFE). I know there is normally no surround sound when a channel is just playing a news program, but there should be decent surround volume when they are playing a recent movie.

I know there is a bit of surround audio present because I can raise the surround levels by 12 db using Denon AVR settings, and when I do that the surround audio begins to sound reasonable.

I've tested the 25' HDMI cable and it's OK. The system gives good 5.1 audio when I switch to a different source such as a Blu-ray player or an Apple TV 3.

I suspect the problem is the Telus CIS430 PVR. maybe related to the HDMI output. I have not yet tried a TOSLink optic cable for audio, would need to get a 25 footer.