Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hows it going guys, I'm new to the site but really feel like I can get a lot of useful information from all the members after spending a lot of time reading threads. I am a sophomore in college at the University of Illinois at Chicago and have had an obsession with home audio since a very young age. I put together what I feel is a very impressive home theater for my age and year in college consisting of a Kenwood VR-305 receiver, 2 theater research floor standing speakers, a bose center, new bose 301 rear speakers and a 150 built in amp Dayton audio subwoofer. My roommates and I frequently watch movies in 5.1 and are amazed at the surround effects coming from the receiver (dolby prologic) and also run what is now officially one of the best party houses on campus due to my audio equipment ;) The theater researches were also modified with 1 inch silk dayton tweeters which have added great brightness to the already great sound and amplitude given by these infamously know "white van speakers." What I am trying learn now is what should be my next step, because home audio has now become an obsession of mine and I want to keep expanding. Thanks alot guys.

·
Registered
233 Posts
Can you say more power?:)

Looks like your AVR has pre-outs, go out and buy a five channel amp like this and some interconnects from mono price.

Once you got that up and running, some of your buddies may not want to leave your apartment anymore.:D

·
Premium Member
9,238 Posts
Gary Soper said:
What I am trying learn now is what should be my next step ...
According to the owner's manual, your receiver does not have digital audio inputs, but it does have multi-channel analogue inputs for 5.1 audio. Assuming you're not already using them, I suggest hooking up to those inputs either a Blu-ray (BD) or a DVD player that has multi-channel analogue outputs.