Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1981 - 1994 of 1994 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,380 Posts
Did you run a check switch? That is the first thing that needs to be done with a new unit so the 9242 knows what type of dish setup you have.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Also the 9242 is an old unit run off a sw44 that I’m just moving. I tested it before unplugging it and it worked but won’t with the dpp.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,918 Posts
Sorry if I’m in the wrong forum, I haven’t been on here in a while. Hi all. I’ve got a 9242 that I’m going to use to replace a 9241 but I’m having some issues. When I hook up the 9242 I can’t get 82 to come in at all but 91 is fine. Both sats come in on the 9241. I’m running a dpp separator with dual lnb’s currently. Do I have to get a sw44 to run it or is there an easier way I’m not aware of? Thank you.
Hi UncleMike, how is the 9241 connected? and can you elabourate on your LNB and Switch setup if possible? You said you have dual lnb's, how was this setup connected to your 9241? something tells me you are not using Dish Pro Plus equiptment but you are trying to use a Dish Pro Plus Separator which will not work for many reasons explained on here. Is this the case?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,180 Posts
Remove the RG6s. Do a check switch. It will fail. Connect the RG6s. Do another check switch. It should pass. Be sure to unplug the receiver when disconnecting and reconnecting the RG6s.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Im trying to align a dish with a 6400 receiver. The receiver was originally hooked up with a dpp quad. I mounted the dish and put it where i thought it went, hooked it up and i was at 85% on the 91 bird using a legacy dual lnb. The problem is that i tried to fine tune it without running a check switch. Soon as i moved it an inch, it seemed like the receiver locked up and every time i try to reboot it, it runs through the process 1-38 and then says there is a problem blah blah. Cant get into the menu or anything. Only thing i can do is keep cycling a check switch from the main screen. Anyone know whats going on here? I couldnt even get into the menu with the feed unhooked from the dish.

EDIT: Nevermind. I had to cancel the main screen check switch then go to cancel again on the next screen then i was able to access the signal meter screen. Found the 91 first with a legacy lnb (skew was preset) unhooked 91 and tested the 82 and that also was at 100%
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Hi there, I just moved and swapped my 9241 from my old house, which was working perfect, to the new house. Installed it exactly the same way and Im getting connection errors. Also did numerous check switches. I have a SW44 switch to just 1 receiver. Any ideas? Thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
819 Posts
Did you bring the old dish and parts with you or was there already a dish on the new place. If using same dish as before, try just 2 lines from the 91 LNBF to the receiver. If that works, you then have to eliminate the SW44, Jumper Cables, Power Supply or Power Inserter.

Might be easier to grab a DPP Twin, then junk the SW44, Power Supply and Power Inserter.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
572 Posts
Are you certain you where using a SW44 and not a DPP44 instead perhaps. Do you have the exact same setup as you did are your previous property, are you able to take a picture for us of the LNBS and the switch then we can tell you a little more about what you should do to correct the situation. Hope that helps
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Thanks for your help. Yes I am using a SW44 and yes same set up as before. The mast was definitely not plum so i had to do some adjusting on the roof. The only thing now is that I can't find the 91 sat. I get 98% on sat 82 so i must be close. Some fine tuning maybe? Considering getting a DPP Twin to eliminate the SW44. Gonna wait until it's not -20 outside to adjust. :)
 
1981 - 1994 of 1994 Posts
Top