Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner
141 - 160 of 169 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
574 Posts
you did clear the nvram when you did that and it says non-volatile memory has been corrupted. when you are told to unplug it is at this time that you put your new hard drive in and then plug the power back in and let the 9241 do its thing and will figure out the new hard disk own its own (mind you im certain you are matching the new drive to ensure it is compatible in the list of approved drives)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
M3repair that worked! I thank you so much. I didn't realize that when I saw the non-volatile memory has been corrupted message that the replacement hard drive had to be connected after unplugging the power. I thought I needed to see NVRam cleared before doing this.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
1 tb internal replacement drive for 9241

Does someone knows the 1tb drive models that will fit into a 9241?

Thanksssssssss!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Can't get hard drive to format

I am stumped with a problem I am having with another one of my 9241 receivers. The hard drive went on it and I ordered a replacement on EBay. While I had the case open I changed a few of the caps that were bulging and the rest of the known problem ones also that weren’t showing signs of bulging yet just to be proactive. I have cleared the NVRam according to suggestions and installed the replacement hard drive. I won’t format the drive on its own and when I go to the memory dump screen and press Play, Play, return (the config dump screen pops up even before I get to press Return) I get the message that the hard drive is being cleaned and not to disturb the process and it will reboot upon completion. The system does reboot 3 times with that same hard drive is being cleaned screen appearing for two of the boots. On the third boot it goes to the 311 error screen about hard drive error. I have tried going back into the memory dump screen and doing the short HD test by pressing Pause, 1. It completed the test and all smart results passed. I also tested the drive attached to a PC and it passed all tests. I created a partition and then wiped the drive. But still no luck getting the 9241 to format it. Not sure why it can see the drive, clean it, pass the HD test but I can’t get it to format. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
I thought of that but didn't want to touch the other system as it is working fine and I just changed the caps and hard drive on that one about a month ago. Didn't want to jinx that one! :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Bonjour! I have remplacer disque dur recepteur 9241+il me donne code 33 je déconnecte et reconnecte toujour pareil. Le disque du récepteur estDT01ABA100V de Toshiba.1to. Jai essayer un autre disque seagate ST1000VM002 firware sc11. Toujour code 33 mais pas satellite et essayer effacer mémoire mais je ne la voie pas. Version de Bell V 373 et tout changer mes capuchons. Merci pour votre aide.. Je vous écrit en français car mon anglais pas bon
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Hello All! Thanks for the helpful posts in here. Has anyone been trying currently available drives? I've tried the Seagate Pipeline (Optimized for PVR) ST2000VM003 HDD which appears to be a newer iteration of their optimized for PVR drive, for which the 1TB version was reported working at an old firmware level. I've also tried a 1TB WD10EACS as I have a few of them. Neither will work.

My procedure is:
1. Connect HD to windows computer
2. Delete All partitions
3. Use software like Micronit Data Wiper Free or Sea Tools for Windows (Seagate drives) to do an "Erase Overwrite" to fill the drive iwth 0s.
4. Clear NVRAM (Menu, 6, 3, Info, Browse, Themes, TV/Video)
5. Pull power plug on receiver and install drive
6. Boot up (Unfortunately, I do not get the drive format prompt and force formatting or waiting overnight do not make a difference.)

I can get another Toshiba 1TB from another Bell receiver to work. To eliminate any file system issue, I tried cloning the Toshiba into a 2TB as above, but my working Toshiba has bad sectors I need to deal with.

I am doing this with a 9400, but I have not found a list of compatible drives for it like I have here, so hoping they are the same. (Or perhaps not through trial)
If anyone knows any modern drives, even 2TB drives that can work, I'll appreciate a heads up.

Thanks,
Mike
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
So, I searched what you have in quotes there, and found this list. In the interests of keeping all the info on digital home, here it is:

--------
V232 HDD list for 9241 [a la ViP612]
Tue Aug 11 12:30:54 2009

HDT722525DLAT80
Hitachi HCP725025GLA380
Hitachi HCP725025GLAT80
Hitachi HCP725032GLA380
Hitachi HCP725050GLA380
Hitachi HCS5C3232SLA380
Hitachi HCS725025VLAT80
Hitachi HCS725032VLA380
Hitachi HCS725050VLA380
Hitachi HCT721010SLA360
Hitachi HDS721616PLAT80
Maxtor 4A250J0
Maxtor 4R120L0
Maxtor 4R160L0
Maxtor 5A250J0
Maxtor 6L120P0
Maxtor 6L160P0
Maxtor 6L250R0
Maxtor 6L250S0
Maxtor 6L320S0
Maxtor 7Y250M0
Maxtor 7Y250P0
SAMSUNG HA250JC
SAMSUNG HA500LJ
SAMSUNG HA501IJ
SAMSUNG SP1243N
SAMSUNG SP1644N
SAMSUNG SV1203N
SAMSUNG SV1604E
ST31000335CS
ST3120025ACE
ST3120213ACE
ST3160022ACE
ST3160023AS
ST3160212ACE
ST3160215ACE
ST3250310CS
ST3250820ACE
ST3250820SCE
ST3250823ACE
ST3250823SCE
ST3320310CS
ST3320820SCE
ST3320832SCE
ST3500321CS
ST3500830SCE
WDC WD10EAVS-57
WDC WD1200JB-57REA0
WDC WD1600AAJB-57
WDC WD1600JB-57REA0
WDC WD2500AAJB-57
WDC WD2500AAJS-57
WDC WD2500JB-55GVA1
WDC WD2500JB-57GVA1
WDC WD2500JB-57GVC0
WDC WD2500JB-57REA0
WDC WD2500JD-55HBB1
WDC WD2500JD-57HBB1
WDC WD2500JD-57HBC0
WDC WD2500JS-57MHB1
WDC WD3200AAJS-57
WDC WD3200JS-57PDB0
WDC WD5000AAJS-57
WDC WD5000AAVS-57

NOTE: WDC disks with -57 prefix are OEM !

---------

Please note - I'm not guaranteeing any of these disks will work in your 9241, or that you can buy them anywhere! Just trying to collect relevant info at this stage.

If anyone has had success with any of these, or other drives, please let us know!

Thanks
BTW - Whilst replacing my caps, and HDD in my 9241 I noticed my Seagate they had in there isn't listed:
ST3320311CS

Seagate Pipeline HD .2 - 320GB

Just an FYI.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
So, if I replace a drive from one 9241 that is activation locked, do i have to erase it 1st, BEFORE I put it in my 9241?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
I just tried to replace my one TB drive before reading comments.
The one from my 9241 that died is a Toshiba DT01ABA100V (MAR 2014)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Hello All! Thanks for the helpful posts in here. Has anyone been trying currently available drives? I've tried the Seagate Pipeline (Optimized for PVR) ST2000VM003 HDD which appears to be a newer iteration of their optimized for PVR drive, for which the 1TB version was reported working at an old firmware level. I've also tried a 1TB WD10EACS as I have a few of them. Neither will work.

My procedure is:
1. Connect HD to windows computer
2. Delete All partitions
3. Use software like Micronit Data Wiper Free or Sea Tools for Windows (Seagate drives) to do an "Erase Overwrite" to fill the drive iwth 0s.
4. Clear NVRAM (Menu, 6, 3, Info, Browse, Themes, TV/Video)
5. Pull power plug on receiver and install drive
6. Boot up (Unfortunately, I do not get the drive format prompt and force formatting or waiting overnight do not make a difference.)

I can get another Toshiba 1TB from another Bell receiver to work. To eliminate any file system issue, I tried cloning the Toshiba into a 2TB as above, but my working Toshiba has bad sectors I need to deal with.

I am doing this with a 9400, but I have not found a list of compatible drives for it like I have here, so hoping they are the same. (Or perhaps not through trial)
If anyone knows any modern drives, even 2TB drives that can work, I'll appreciate a heads up.

Thanks,
Mike
If I was to replace a faulty 9400 hard drive with a working drive from another 9400, what are the steps that I need to do?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Hello,
I have a 9241 with a dead HD. I have a 9242 that does not work but the HD seems to be working. The drive is a Western Digital WD2500JD-57HBC0. Its capacity is expected to be 250 GB. However, using WD Diagnostic tools, it is presented as a 2 TB drive. When I try to install it into my 9241 and I turn the power on, I can hear the HD being accessed but nothing else happens. I have tried to clear Nvram but it does not change anything. The 9241 keeps accessing the drive for hours and, on occasion, the unit restart by itself. If I try to obtain system info, nothing happens. Nothing is showing on the TV.
I thought that moving an HD from a 9242 to a 9241 would be an easy way of fixing the problem with the dead HD of the 9241.
Any suggestion?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,849 Posts
Try putting the drive in a PC and then deleting the existing partitions and formatting it to 2TB with a new partition. It may need to be completely erased with 0's using WD tools.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Try putting the drive in a PC and then deleting the existing partitions and formatting it to 2TB with a new partition. It may need to be completely erased with 0's using WD tools.
I have tried to quick erase the drive using WD Dlgdiag and the result is: delete partitions error. I have downloaded WD Dashboard but it can't find the drive. I have tried HDDguru low level format and the only thing I can see are 1117 device i/o errors.
I/O errors can be due to various causes; bad drive, incompatible drive with operating system, protected drive. How to figure out that the drive is a bad drive effectively?
 
141 - 160 of 169 Posts
Top