Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wired my house for sound throughout. Each room has four speakers, 2 channels, and home runs to a sound closet. I have a Cress 70.7-volt stereo amp and 34 Sony 3-ohm cube speakers. I believe I need to find some step-down transformers but everything is geared for 2-4-8-16 ohm. Any idears? I am new to this so much of the info is Greek to me right now. Thanks.

·
Registered
3,022 Posts
First thing you need to find is the right subforum, but I'm sure the moderator staff will relocate this thread soon enough.

Now, onto your problem. Why are you using a 70V amp for home audio? High impedance amps are for commercial paging applications...

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply. I wanted to be able to run sound throughout the house but, in many rooms, I might turn the speakers off or switch to an in-room source (TV, radio, or CD). That means that the main amp might see 4 speakers or as many as 34. That seems to require a system like in a commercial building, huh? So several years ago I found on eBay a bunch of Sony cube speakers cheap. Sweet! I bought 34 and now all of the speakers in the house will match. I thought thet, while I'm waiting to finish the house, I would use one of these on an old tuner/amp in the garage. Burned out the amp. Huh! Turns out the speakers are all 3 ohm. So, THATS why they were cheap! Then I started talking with a friend who does commercial systems for churches. He said that what I need is a constant-voltage system but it needs to be a stereo unit or two mono amps. Most are mono. I found one on eBay that was stereo. Score! Now I need a step-down transformer for each of these speakers but they're all 3-ohm. None of the step-downs have leads for 3 ohms. That's where I sit now. I think the speakers are 80 watts.

·
Registered
4,666 Posts