Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Hello all - 16 bay clone of CM4228

Hi all,

A quick note of introduction. I've been browsing the web for a few months looking for information on how to improve my reception of Boston tv station in Ayer, MA (25-30 mi). Coming across you all is a blessing, and I've reviewed most, if not all of your thread on "Channel Master Model 4228 Antennas."

I ended up building a clone of sorts of two CM 4228 ganged (still trying to connect wires appropriately). The difference between my antenna and the real thing is that mine is made of 8 gauge copper bowties 7" V legs spaced roughly 7" apart, galvanized steel 1/2" gridded reflector, twin lead, and the rest are plastic and duct tape. It is an indoor antenna of about 10 lbs. and receives most Boston stations (GBH, GBX, ABC, NBC, CBS, CW, but not Fox, LVI, and Ion) at 90% or greater strength. The SAD thing is that my cloned 8 bay works just as well and built the exact same way. I've TRIED to gang the pair of 8's parrellel/series as well as parrellel with shared CM 7777 pre-amp, but not with splitter and dual pre-amps. But results aren't any better than 8 bay. I'll keep trying but would LOVE SOME HELP. Can't want to see results from the fella experimenting with connections for ganging 4228's. Thanks for your time.

I also have two questions on my mind:

1) Why aren't directors ever used on CM bowtie antennas?

2) How can I get better results than an 8 bay, fudge?!?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Stampeder,

Thanks for the comments. I've checked out the DBGH superantenna. It's an interesting read, and I'm sure that I'll keep updated.

fbov,