Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
I'll raise my hand as another person who has downloaded 4nec2 and been able to run basic analysis of the G-H that fits with the expected results. I'm a physicist by training, but software inept so I expect a bit of a learning curve with the modeling programs.

I look forward to contributing ... eventually.
Frank

·
Registered
50 Posts
rochmndx,
Check out Ken Nist's work on ganging multi-bay arrays at HDTVPrimer.com. He used 8-bay 4228's to make 16- and 32-bay arrays, with varying results due to his location. In LOS applications, signal field intensity is relatively uniform perpendicular to the LOS. Ken has severe diffraction at his site that results in poor performance with the 32-bay due to signal strength variations across the antenna aperture. He stuck with the 16-bay, analogous to the DBGH in aperture size and orientation, because it could be located away from signal nulls.
Frank

·
Registered
50 Posts
d'Avalonia,
I'm one of the guys stampeder is talking about cloning 4228's, but my jury is still out. I made two 4221s, but haven't tested the combo for want of a reasonable signal field at home and a sub-200 lb. tuner.

A quick scan of Boston MA at TVFool.com shows you're all UHF for your locals so these are the right kinds of antenna. Without knowing more about the signal field at your location, I can't comment on why some come in and others don't. I can offer a resource for ganging 4228's; scroll down to 16-bay and 32-bay links, or better yet, read it all!
http://www.hdtvprimer.com/ISSUES/erecting_antenna.html

His conclusion was that diffraction effects caused signal strength variations across the antenna aperture when he went side-by-side with the 32-bay, while the vertically-stacked 16-bay was small enough to fit in a signal maximum. The DBGH is a similar form factor and so should perform well for the same reasons the 16-bay did.