Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/)
-   Home Theatre Personal Computer (HTPC) and Media Extenders (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/31-home-theatre-personal-computer-htpc-media-extenders/)
-   -   Windows Media Centre Channels (Shaw Cable) (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/31-home-theatre-personal-computer-htpc-media-extenders/94512-windows-media-centre-channels-shaw-cable.html)

talker 2008-10-26 03:10 PM

Windows Media Centre Channels (Shaw Cable)
 
I recently bought a Media Centre PC.

Upon setting it up to receive a Shaw Cable TV feed I have come to notice that I can't receive any channel higher than 59.

Am I doing something wrong or is this normal?

I would have thought I could record (HD) movie channels which are in the 60-64 or 200 + area.

Anyone have any suggestions as to how I can pull this off? :confused:

Thanks,
Terry

57 2008-10-26 03:40 PM

You cannot tune/record any of the digital channels because they are encrypted. Please see the following two posts on

QAM tuners:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=32271

Recording HD

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=14099

In order to obtain the digital channels, you'll have to have a digital STB from Shaw and have WMC control the STB. This still doesn't give you HD, as indicted in the previous link.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome