Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/)
-   Sasktel (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/68-sasktel/)
-   -   Fuzzyness with Sasktel Max (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/68-sasktel/92425-fuzzyness-sasktel-max.html)

Kaabik 2008-09-19 10:56 PM

Fuzzyness with Sasktel Max
 
hi,

I decided to try out sasktel max, yet my standard def channels seem to be incredibly fuzzy, but hd are clear like a charm. no matter what i do all the standard def channels are fuzzy, and it goes for all 3 of my tv's in the house.

so how can you take away all the noise in the picture?

cprich2007 2008-09-20 11:26 AM

Do you have black bars on the side of screen on a sd channel? if you do, go to max home page and on settings and then to tv settings? Then go to 4/3 stretch override and choose stretch. How long you had it? Maybe try and reset the box to clear it memory if the setting don't help.

tell me if it improves, i have max hd and no problems.

Are you on VDSL2+ as well?

Tikker 2008-09-20 01:44 PM

if he's got HD he'll be on VDSL2+

you really shouldn't see fuzziness

SD channels are never going to look super fantastic on a HDTV

57 2008-09-20 02:38 PM

Perhaps the following post on SD PQ will help. Are all 3 TVs HDTVs?

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=18580


The following post is usually useful for those new to the forum:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=57741


Quote:

Then go to 4/3 stretch override and choose stretch.
I can't see how this will help since the PQ of a stretched image is always worse, as well as providing distortion. Stretch modes are usually used on CRTs and plasmas to prevent burn in, however, if you want the best PQ, you leave your SD unstretched.

Kaabik 2008-09-20 07:00 PM

one is a hd tv with a hd box, while one is a tube tv, and the other is a hd tv with a reg box.

i have had it for 2 days and it has been fuzzy the whole time.. i have it set on stretch and have tried every setting in the settings.

cprich2007 2008-09-20 07:12 PM

Can you post some pics of the tv's images and I'll compare it to my Dell HD TV.

If it's ok with you.

Thanks

Did they upgrade you to VDSL2+ from ADSL2

Tikker 2008-09-20 07:15 PM

what kind of cables are you using?

SD looks great on my tube tv's and looks OK on my HDTV's

Kaabik 2008-09-20 07:20 PM

i have some monster component cables.. and the hd ones they gave me with the system. I also tried using a hdmi cable, but it doesnt do anything with that just plugged in.... and i am not sure where to check what box or firmware or anything i have

Tuckeye 2008-09-22 05:16 PM

I'd tend to think it's compression related. SD always looked fuzzy to me on both my 47" LCD HDTV and my 36" CRT. Their SD service never really looked good actually...ever.

Call and get your lines checked. They're more than happy to send out techie after techie after techie...

frosty vibe 2008-09-27 12:56 AM

The cable connection may have something to do with the quality but as others pointed out, Sasktel SD signal sucks to begin with.

Shaw is much better in SD and HD is comparable between the two.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome