Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/)
-   MTS (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/193-mts/)
-   -   Bell MTS Whole Home Wi-Fi (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/193-mts/286701-bell-mts-whole-home-wi-fi.html)

Dr.Dave 2019-04-08 01:31 PM

Bell MTS Whole Home Wi-Fi
 
I've seen ads for Bell MTS Whole Home Wi-Fi for the last few months. The service was introduced in Ontario and Quebec in 2018.

Bell has partnered with Plume to deliver new access points, called pods, to extend Wi-Fi coverage throughout the home using a mesh network.

Whole Home Wi-Fi
Whole Home Wi-Fi FAQs

6-pack rental $5/month, additional pods are $2/month each.

Note that the app that allows you to manage the internet doesn't work with MTS yet. Bell in Ontario charges $5/month for only 4 pods.

dschell_2000 2019-04-16 11:14 AM

Does this system use power wiring to distribute the signal? Or, is the power plug only used to power the node?

Dr.Dave 2019-04-16 11:35 AM

The power outlet only powers the pod. It's a Wi-Fi mesh network, which means the Wi-Fi signal can be relayed from pod to pod.

mbhydro 2019-04-21 09:06 AM

Just wondering would a pod be able to be installed outside in an in-use cover (the ones with the bubble)? I had one of my friends ask my thoughts about doing this as he wants better coverage on his deck so his wife can use her tablet outside.

BellMTS's web page says they are not certified for outdoor use but I am thinking that they are not certified to be out there unprotected with the normal flap style outdoor receptacle.

The in-use cover would keep it dry but may trap in heat on a hot day.

Dr.Dave 2019-04-21 10:43 AM

@mbhydro If the deck is attached to the house, they should be able to plug a pod on or near the exterior wall. If the deck is long, they could even use 2 pods at opposite ends of the deck.

I looked up the info on the Plume site and found the following, which means the in-use cover will probably trap too much heat. They could keep that idea as a last resort if nothing else works. A cover with a larger opening at the bottom is probably better for heat dissipation, keeping in mind there will be at least a small opening for the electrical cord, which should be kept open.

Operating Requirements
Temperature: 32 - 95 F (0 - 35C)
Humidity: 10% - 90% relative

More info: Can I plug a pod outdoors?
Quote:

We recommend that you keep your Plume pods inside and away from rain or moisture. If you want to improve Wi-Fi coverage in your outdoor space, we suggest that you place a pod just inside your door or take it outside only when you need it for a get together.
They may need additional pods between the exterior wall and the router to relay the signal. From the Bell MTS FAQ:
Quote:

Once moved, pods require a minimum of 10 minutes to recalibrate their connection to the rest of the network. Allow for up to 48 hours for full optimization.
They can rent them or a month for $5 to see if it works well in their situation.

ExDilbert 2019-04-21 11:29 AM

The best way to use these pods is to install them half way between the router and the dead zone. For longer distances, placing two of them at 1/3 intervals may be required. The pods themselves need to be placed where they will receive a good signal from the router and provide a good signal to the dead zone or additional pod. For outside areas, placing them on an adjacent inside wall may be best. They should not be placed in a dead zone because that will simply create a strong signal with a slow or unusable connection between the pod and the router.

Reception in outside areas may be difficult due to materials in outside walls that block RF signals. For difficult areas it may be necessary to use a Powerline adapter such as the TP-Link TL-WPA8630 kit. The wifi pod would be placed in or near the dead zone with the main unit connected directly to the main router. If placed outside, it would need to be protected from moisture, heat and sunlight.

mbhydro 2019-04-21 03:53 PM

thanks Dr. Dave and ExDilbert for the suggestions. I'm going to talk to my friend later today so I'll pass on your comments.

mbhydro 2019-04-25 08:07 PM

Just thought I would update to say that when I dropped over to my friends we checked the Pace box settings and found the WIFI power was for some reason on the lowest setting. Bumping it up to mid range seemed to eliminate the problem of no WiFi on their deck.

At this point it looks like they don't need the pods.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome