Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/)
-   Home Theatre Personal Computer (HTPC) and Media Extenders (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/31-home-theatre-personal-computer-htpc-media-extenders/)
-   -   Roku Premiere Plus (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/31-home-theatre-personal-computer-htpc-media-extenders/266993-roku-premiere-plus.html)

wmjfoley85 2016-10-25 01:18 PM

Roku Premiere Plus
 
Hi all, I currently have a Roku 3, but this weekend I ordered a Roku Premiere Plus from The Source website. It's suppose to have ac wireless capibilities which is the reason I ordered it. To my knowledge it's not even sold in store yet. Anyone try out the new Roku boxes yet? How different is it really besides wifi ac capabilities from the Roku 3?

ExDilbert 2016-10-25 07:14 PM

Compared to previous models, the Roku Premiere and Roku Premiere+ add 4k TV capability. Compared to the Roku Premiere, the Roku Premiere+ adds HDR TV, an ethernet port and an RF remote with headphone jack.

wmjfoley85 2016-10-25 09:23 PM

Ok thank you !

WeirdG 2016-10-28 04:01 AM

I'm looking at buying the Canadian version. Does anyone know if it's possible to access Hulu+, HBO Go, and Pandora if you use a VPN or SmartDNS service with this?

Dr.Dave 2016-10-28 09:59 AM

It's doubtful that you will be able to get HBO outside the U.S. since they cracked down on VPNs over a year ago - see post 31 in this thread. I assume you mean HBO NOW, which is the standalone HBO subscription service. HBO GO is the service you use for online access if you pay for HBO through your U.S. cable TV subscription.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/217-...ml#post2512513

WeirdG 2016-10-28 10:17 AM

Nope, I mean HBO Go. I actually have it working on my Samsung SmartTV, but I have my router setup using a SmartDNS service. Hulu+, HBO Go, and Pandora work without any issues. Netflix US also sometimes works. It might be up for a week or two and down for a few, since Netflix is still cracking down on VPN/SmartDNS users.

WeirdG 2016-10-28 10:18 AM

BTW, I have a hookup for HBO Go, who subscribes to it with DirecTV.

Dr.Dave 2016-10-28 11:45 AM

Good to know you got HBO working - I don't have any specific info on Roku.

wmjfoley85 2016-10-29 02:10 AM

I got a box called a Turbo Beacon that I connected to my router.....It allows me to access my Hulu+ account, and get US Netflix just fine on my Roku ! The device provides a US Wifi Network called TurboBeacon and I pay $10.50 per month.

www.turbobeacon.com


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome