Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/)
-   Videotron (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/60-videotron/)
-   -   DVI activation SA8000HD (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/60-videotron/26559-dvi-activation-sa8000hd.html)

mfabien 2005-04-01 10:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raven_
Whatever. Videotron has been saying 30 days now for over a year. Its a lost cause...

Lost cause?

The Broadcast Flag will start only later this year, so, what's the problem?

If you go the Scientific Atlanta's Explorer Club at:
http://www.scientificatlanta.com/exp...ub/default.asp

At the end of FAQ's you will find HDTV FAQ's and there you can read:

"Q: When will the DVI port on my Explorer 8000HD be activated?
A: The software which will activate the DVI port with HDCP is currently being tested. It will be made available to cable operators upon completion of the testing. This software will be automatically downloaded to your set-top by your Cable Operator. Expected availability is mid-2005."

As you can see, the activation is something that must be initiated by Scientific Atlanta, tested by Videotron and, when the two parties are satisfied, then the cable company sends the update over the cable. We do know that DVI is now active on SA8000HD in Texas, upper NY State and elsewhere.

Raven_ 2005-04-01 11:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mfabien
Lost cause?

The Broadcast Flag will start only later this year, so, what's the problem?

If you go the Scientific Atlanta's Explorer Club at:
http://www.scientificatlanta.com/exp...ub/default.asp

At the end of FAQ's you will find HDTV FAQ's and there you can read:

"Q: When will the DVI port on my Explorer 8000HD be activated?
A: The software which will activate the DVI port with HDCP is currently being tested. It will be made available to cable operators upon completion of the testing. This software will be automatically downloaded to your set-top by your Cable Operator. Expected availability is mid-2005."

As you can see, the activation is something that must be initiated by Scientific Atlanta, tested by Videotron and, when the two parties are satisfied, then the cable company sends the update over the cable. We do know that DVI is now active on SA8000HD in Texas, upper NY State and elsewhere.

They told me the same story last year..now its 2005..and soon 2006..so nobody knows.

57 2005-04-01 12:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mfabien
We do know that DVI is now active on SA8000HD in Texas, upper NY State and elsewhere.

Rogers Toronto for a couple of months or so... ;) I find this a bit interesting because we were a bit behind Videotron when it comes to SA8000HD features for a long time. Also you had the unit long before us....

Bonehead Inc. 2005-04-02 06:14 PM

Hello All,

I too have been waiting for Videotron to activate the DVI port, but the last email correspondence I had with them left me with some hope of impending implementation.

"Regarding the DVI port, we don't have an activation date yet. We hope to be able to do it this summer."

Summer is so short in Canada that it can't be long now! Right? Right??? Anyway, it's kind of frustrating when the cable company across the river has it activated and I'm left using... ugh... component! :P

Raven_ 2005-04-02 08:23 PM

But the issue here is really what will be the difference in quality between component and DVI? 5%, 10% max? barely noticable if your already using a high end 16:9 TV.

stx 2005-04-02 09:16 PM

It is the pass-through mode I waiting the most for but since it comes together with the firmware supporting DVI, I'm impatiently waiting for this upgrade!

Raven_ 2005-04-02 09:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stx
It is the pass-through mode I waiting the most for but since it comes together with the firmware supporting DVI, I'm impatiently waiting for this upgrade!

The pass-through does what exactly? what benefit?

Thanks

Bonehead Inc. 2005-04-02 10:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raven_
But the issue here is really what will be the difference in quality between component and DVI? 5%, 10% max? barely noticable if your already using a high end 16:9 TV.

Raven: You're right; however, in my case it's not so much the desire to have marginally better video quality as the fact that my TV has two component and one DVI inputs and I'm tired of swapping my DVD player and PS2. (GT4's fault.)

STX: When I asked Videotron about the passthrough option they said,

"We suggest that you set the Explorer terminal to the native resolution of your television, 720p or 1080i. That way, you'll get an even better picture than if a passtrough option was enabled. We were told that Scientific Atlanta was not able to activate the passtrough on the PVR terminals."

Once again, tech support proves to be neither technical nor supportive. Anyone else care to comment?

stx 2005-04-04 09:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raven_
The pass-through does what exactly? what benefit?

Thanks

This has been asked many times on this site... Basically the Illico box won't change the resolution originally set for the specific channel you selected. If a channel is 480i the TV will display 480i (so TV stretching will work), if a channel is 1080i the TV will display 1080i so the best picture quality will be seen.

Right now you have to set the Illico box to a specific resolution and it can only be changed manually. Passthrough mode will provide this automatically as you change channels.

mfabien 2005-04-05 06:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raven_
But the issue here is really what will be the difference in quality between component and DVI? 5%, 10% max? barely noticable if your already using a high end 16:9 TV.

The more important aspect of having an activated DVI is for an HDTV owner, who uses an HDCP equipped STB/DVR, to be compliant with HDCP, at the receiving end of the HDCP circuit, so that when a Broadcast Flag is present (could start later this year) to have the display remain in HD picture format.

Note: Some consumer groups have brought the case of HDCP and the broadcast flag to court and this is currently in the Appeals Court. If the Appeals Court rules against the FCC, the case may reach the Supreme Court or Congress will legislate clear and more specific powers for the FCC. In my opinion, there is little doubt that HDCP will remain and the Broadcast Flag will come about.

pbir 2005-04-14 03:42 PM

Just had a conversation with technical support and the fellow, who appeared knowledgeable, said that their plan is now to implement DVI (and passthrough) in June of this year. Their testing likely found bugs which they need SA to fix, although he did not say that.

mfabien 2005-04-14 05:17 PM

You must be right because Videotron support committed to give me advance notice that DVI would be activated on SA8000HD by April 15 and therefore having no news at this time (April 14) demonstrates that there is a delay.

lpr 2005-04-14 07:41 PM

I was told it would be around the first week of Mai...

mfabien 2005-04-15 05:27 AM

Having DVI active on the SA3250HD since a long time, one would think that the compability issues with the different makes of HDTV would be resolved by now.

pierre 2005-04-15 05:07 PM

What a joke ,(ca se peut pas)
 
They told me DVI would be activitated also in May ,only problem is that it was in May of 2004 .
They really have no idea what they are doing and they say anything that passes through their head at the time.

I do have a feeling it will be this year ,but i would not bet on it :(

Pierre


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome