Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/)
-   Home Computing (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/51-home-computing/)
-   -   Power Adaptor for Paris France (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/51-home-computing/225521-power-adaptor-paris-france.html)

Wetware 2014-12-01 09:31 PM

Power Adaptor for Paris France
 
I just found out that I have to fly to Paris this Saturday.

Can someone tell me what type of power adaptor I need to buy for my laptop?

In some brief reading, I see that France has its own unique plugs. Will the adaptor I use for my laptop be used to charge my iPad / iPhone? or do I need something else?

Also any recommendations on where to buy in Toronto?

thanks in advance

57 2014-12-01 09:36 PM

For most of Europe you can use a two-prong round adapter. Make sure that the power supply you plug into the adapter accepts 220V. You can then charge other devices via USB from your computer.

http://www.francetravelplanner.com/d.../electric.html

http://www.rei.com/learn/expert-advi...ity-guide.html

A web search for electrical adapters should come up with something...

Wetware 2014-12-01 10:42 PM

I was on the first link before and this kind of confused me.

Quote:

Note that once the flat adapter is inserted into the French outlet/point, you can insert either a North American flat-prong plug, or a traditional European round-prong plug into the flat adapter.
In rereading, I guess you plug the two prongs of the cord into the flat adapter and the third prong simply bypasses the adapter.

In addition, I'm not sure if the USB port on my laptop will charge my iPad so I may need a power converter in addition to an adapter.

timlocke 2014-12-02 04:49 AM

90% of laptops have power supplies that can accept anything between 110 and 240V. My Lenovo does. But you should check yours. I believe the standard iPad charger does as well...mine does. In which case all you need is a simple 2 pin round to US 2 flat adapter and you are ok.

toy187 2014-12-02 11:46 AM

Yeah, most power supplies nowadays are auto-switching but it still a good idea to make sure as my wife has once borked her camera when plugging it in without a proper converter (her camera charger was not auto-switching).

Sometimes the power supplies are not auto-switching but do have a switch on the side to manually change it.

If not using such a power supply then you will also need a power converter.

Wetware 2014-12-02 05:56 PM

Thanks, did some further Googling and I think I got it all figured out.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome