Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/)
-   Home Computing (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/51-home-computing/)
-   -   go to NAS direct or through file explorer? (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/51-home-computing/213706-go-nas-direct-through-file-explorer.html)

okmrbh 2014-07-15 04:35 PM

go to NAS direct or through file explorer?
 
I have an NAS storage drive on my home network. When transfering files from one directory to another directory (both on same NAS drive) using my windows laptop it seems to take quite a while. The other day I logged directly on to the NAS from the same laptop this time going through the browser rather than the file explorer it appeared to transfer files almost instantly. When I was using the file browser (not logged directly onto the NAS) do the files have to some how make an extra time consuming leap. Or was it just coincidental?

Thanks

Norman_C 2014-07-15 05:00 PM

Using Explorer requires the files to travel to your PC to then be sent back to the NAS - a double unnecessary journey.
Using the web interface moves them directly, just like if they were on your PC and being moved from one part of hard drive to another.

okmrbh 2014-07-15 05:18 PM

Thanks, yes that's what I thought might be happening but just assumed that since I was transferring within the NAS that it would skip touting through my pc. Strange that it does that but at least now I know the more efficient way.

das75 2014-07-21 11:48 PM

can still use Explorer, just need to both explorer windows connect the same way.

Eg if the NAS is mapped to a drive and both windows opened from drive instant transfers. If one window opened from mapped drive, other say from network, you're transferring through PC.

ExDilbert 2014-07-22 01:52 PM

It also depends on how the NAS files are mapped or, in other words, how Windows sees them. If the files are on different shares, Windows treats then as being on separate drives, even though the may be on the same drive inside the NAS. If the transfer is done on the same share, Windows should just move them quickly.

okmrbh 2014-07-22 03:37 PM

How do you get you NAS drive mapped through windows It is a bit of a pain going through the browser.

is that the "map network drive" option you see at the top when you open the computer icon?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome