Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/)
-   Home Computing (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/51-home-computing/)
-   -   MoCA adapters to reach some rooms; Rogers Internet/Cable subscriber (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/51-home-computing/201098-moca-adapters-reach-some-rooms%3B-rogers-internet-cable-subscriber.html)

buzzinhornets 2014-02-11 10:05 AM

MoCA adapters to reach some rooms; Rogers Internet/Cable subscriber
 
I did a major renovation on my house about 3 years ago and stupidly didn't run Cat5. I have a decent router, Asus RT-N66U, but still some rooms struggle with streaming video. (I have a Patriot Box Office media player on every TV). I've tried wifi extenders (Amped Wireless repeaters) but they're not great for high bandwidth video. I tried a DLINK powerline kit (the 500 meg ones) and despite my house having been rewired with new electrical wires (romex) and a new circuit panel, the speed on powerline was terrible. So now I've searched the web, and see that MoCA is supposedly a better performer than powerline.

Does anyone have any experience with Actiontec MoCA adapters and rogers cable/internet? The coax in my house is split by rogers and reaches like 7 rooms. Since the only place to buy these seems to be amazon, I want to get some feedback before I make the purchase... and why do so few companies make MoCA?

four 2014-02-11 10:23 AM

How big is your house? How many floors?
How many TVs (aka PBOs to wire)? How far apart?
What type of video material (bitrate/codec) are you playing?

Can you get away with 1-2 more routers? Have you tried .11ac?
Should be cheaper...

j0dest3r 2014-02-11 03:13 PM

I'm using a pair of Actiontec ECB2500C's as a line for my router in my home office to plug directly into my Shaw modem. I also have a roof antenna running on the same line so not shared with a cable but it works great and has been rock solid for my environment.

buzzinhornets 2014-02-13 04:39 PM

so it appears my splitters say something like 5mhz to 1002mhz... based on what i've read, i would have to swap those out for 2.4ghz?

four 2014-02-13 08:02 PM

The higher the freq - the shorter the range (same power, environment variables, etc.)
Hence, switching from 5GHz to 2.4GHz will improve range. But the latter is a "busier" freq - microwaves, cordless phones, etc.

buzzinhornets 2014-02-13 09:26 PM

Huh? R u not confusing this with wifi 2.4ghz? I'm talking coax splitters rated at 2.4ghz

four 2014-02-13 10:34 PM

Yes, that is what I meant, sorry...

gzink 2014-02-14 12:02 AM

2.4 are for satellite like shaw direct cable runs. I'm not sure that you need 2.4 for reg cable and internet but the higher rated can't do any harm.

buzzinhornets 2014-03-27 12:29 PM

Just want to say that these Moca adapters met/surpassed my expectations! my 1005Mhz splitters were no issue and I installed 4 of these in about 15 minutes. The only additional step I had to take was buy two diplexers from Lowes to split the Moca signals around a cable tv amplifier that rogers installed... the diplexers allow the cable tv mhz to be amplified, and the moca mhz bypass the amplifier. Everything working great now - tv, moca ethernet, even allowed me to add some access points to the moca ends! very pleased - not sure why more companies don't sell this technology???????

tux 2014-03-27 11:14 PM

There's a few reasons why more companies don't sell this technology.

The main advantage to using MoCA is the simplicity of the setup and ability to reach remote devices (outside of your Ethernet/wifi range). However, MoCA is mostly proprietary to cable provider equipment, whereas HomePlug (powerline networking) is readily available through a number of vendors and retail devices. Finally, in terms of speed, networking through MoCA is much slower than either gigabit Ethernet or a good Wi-Fi connection using wireless N or AC.

The proprietary nature of MoCA means that if you switch providers, you need to switch networking equipment. Slower speeds (compared to CAT5e or WiFi) means that you're unlikely to use MoCA unless necessary. And HomePlug probably does a better job at connecting distant devices, since a room is more likely to be wired with power outlets than cable. And lack of retail (non-ISP) products limits the usefulness of the technology.

Note that the same arguments apply to HomePNA phoneline networking offered through DSL providers.

wysiwyg 2014-03-28 08:06 AM

I'm using a pair of ActionTec MoCA adaptors along with with my my Rogers Services (Cable + Internet) and they work great. Much better than all the Powerline adaptors I tried. It doesn't like the Rogers Whole Home service though, so if you have that, it needs to be deactivated first. Also, the recent Rogers receivers (4250, Nextbox 2, 3...) are suppose to be MoCa compatible, yet they don't seem to work with my ActionTec (I was told it uses the same standard when I visited their booth at CES in 2012 and they showed them side by side with SA boxes)

Wayne 2014-03-31 05:28 PM

I am also using MoCA. 5-6 years ago I bought three Motorola NIM-100 adapters on eBay for about $90. I use them to bridge an area where I have ethernet (and cable) to two other rooms where I couldn't easily run ethernet but I do have cable outlets. I also tried powerline but didn't get very good speeds. When I ran a PC to test my transfer speeds with MoCA I was getting about 40 Mbps - which is plenty good for HD video.

Eventually, when I do get around to renovating this part of the house, I will run ethernet but for now this is good enough. I guess the other option would be to move to Wifi since the newer wifi standards seem to be faster and more reliable than the Wireless G standard that was prevalent at the time that I started using my MoCA adapters.

buzzinhornets 2014-04-21 02:54 PM

Hey, so my MoCA setup works great... but I'm with Rogers. If I switch to Bell Fibe TV would I run into any issues? i.e. I think I read that MoCA doesn't work well with Satellite TV since they share the same MHz/GHz... what about Fibe TV?

Dr.Dave 2014-04-21 04:43 PM

4 Attachment(s)
I think Bell uses wireless receivers for its new Fibe TV installations. Only the main PVR has to be hard-wired (either Cat5 Ethernet or coax) and can be attached to any TV. Depending on your situation, you may not have to overlap with the MoCA setup.

yyzlhr 2014-04-21 11:11 PM

MoCA runs in the 1ghz and above frequencies. HPNA uses lower frequencies so they should be able to coexist.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome