Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/)
-   Shaw Direct Satellite (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/11-shaw-direct-satellite/)
-   -   SD Info Channels Mixed In With HD (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/11-shaw-direct-satellite/173865-sd-info-channels-mixed-hd.html)

JohnR 2013-06-18 12:54 PM

SD Info Channels Mixed In With HD
 
I am using the classic lineup where the channels start at 001. Shaw Direct has mixed in several standard definition channels where the INFO tells you which group of channels "start here".
I like to channel surf and when I come to one of these standard def channels I have to wait 5 seconds or so for the switch to standard def and again have to wait another 5 seconds to return to hi-def when I go to the next hi-def channel.
These channels are not shown in the Classic Channel Lineup PDF I downloaded but they sure are an annoyance when I try to channel surf.
Could anybody inform me as to whether the Advanced Channel Lineup is the same? I really don't need Shaw Direct to inform me as to which group of channels "start here" especially if it causes such a nuisance as I described above.
Example.... Channel 010. It has a standard definition picture which is repeated on all channels of this type and the info tells you "Alberta HD Channels Start Here."
Channels 18, 26, 31, 42, 49, 68, 78, 100, 123, 136, 159. 209 have similar messages which inform you as to which group of channels start here.

bigoranget 2013-06-18 01:02 PM

From what I can tell online, yes the advanced line-up has these two. What about setting a favourite channels list. Would that not eliminate the SD channels when channel surfing.

d_source 2013-06-18 01:03 PM

Yes they added the same info channels to the Advanced lineup as well. I don't channel surf so it doesn't affect me, but i can see it being really frustrating in your case.

d_source 2013-06-18 01:04 PM

Or see if you can block them using the parental controls? Not sure if that "skips" them when channel surfing or not.

GaryE 2013-06-18 01:28 PM

I've tried "channel surfing" and I'm not experiencing the long delays you are having going in and out of the info channels. It might be a half second or so longer as it changes satellites but nothing like the 5 seconds your experiencing.

What are your video settings like on Options-4-5?

57 2013-06-18 02:42 PM

The delay is due to your TV changing formats due to the "native" or "passthrough" setting that you have in your STB. Change the output format to only 1080i and you will not encounter the delays. This is a TV issue, not directly a STB issue. Depending on the TV it can take 2-10 seconds to change formats from say 1080i to 480i.

d_source 2013-06-18 02:53 PM

I think he's describing the TV switching from hi def to standard def back to hi def. My Samsung TV has a similar delay when switching.

JohnR 2013-06-18 02:57 PM

GaryE.....I tried different settings in the Output Format. Still having a 5 second delay. I once asked a CSR about the delay and she said that 5 seconds is normal. :confused:
I guess I can just hope that the situation with the Standard def channels being mixed in with the Hi-Def will be a temporary thing and Shaw Direct will eliminate them.
Why can't SD just have one "information" channel and list where each group of channels begins?
bigoranget.............. Setting a FAV list only eliminates the listing from the guide. They are still there when surfing.
d_source..... Parental Control still brings up the channel when surfing and asks for a password.
Thanks for the suggestions.
Looks like there is no workaround other than Shaw Direct eliminating them or switching them to hi-def....like that is going to happen. LOL

JohnR 2013-06-18 03:06 PM

57....... I am using 1080i.
Also using 480P in 4x3 Override which allowed me to get full screen on my local news channel. That is not happening anymore since the LNB update. The channel is now in letterbox no matter which setting I apply.
Does not matter since I now have it in Hi-def. Just wondering what changed.
d_source........ I also have a Samsung TV. Model UN46D6300. That is probably causing the delay as GaryE said he has no delay.

57 2013-06-18 05:11 PM

Quote:

Also using 480P in 4x3 Override
If you actually have this setting, change the 4:3 override to "off". Most TVs have an "info/display" or similar button which shows the signal that the TV is receiving. Make sure all channels are 1080i.

sawguyg 2013-06-18 05:44 PM

Make a favorites list and don't put them on it,I'm sure you know if you're in sports or kids programming

JohnR 2013-06-18 06:52 PM

sawguyg........Does not work. See post #8 in this thread.

GaryE 2013-06-19 12:06 AM

Okay, I tried JohnR's 480p 4x3 setting and it is horrendously slow.

Use these setting John... Output Format -1080i, 4x3 Override - Off and TV Type - 16x9. If you want to watch your local news in full screen then use the Aspect button on the SD Remote to "Zoom" or "Stretch" the image and then go back to "Normal" to watch HD. If you leave it in zoom or stretch then the HD channels will be out of whack.

JohnR 2013-06-19 02:53 AM

I cannot get it to go full screen using any combination of settings. Had no problem doing so before I updated the LNB. I could set Standard Def to full screen by selecting (480P) and Hi-Def was also OK without any further changes. I did not have to switch back between "Normal" and "Stretch or Zoom".
It seems that the 4x3 override does not function as it did before the LNB upgrade. I don't know if others used this feature which worked well but I always did and now I cannot get it to function.

57 2013-06-19 10:52 AM

There are two separate issues here. One is the delay when switching format. This can be resolved by switching to one output format and not sending 480p/i to the TV. The other is the stretching of signals. You should be able to set your TV to stretch the SD signals and not stretch HD signals if you do send different formats. Most TVs will remember the stretch mode for these separately, however, if your TV is not receiving separate formats, there's nothing to remember, therefore SD will usually remain unstretched, or you'll lose content on your HD channels if you set the TV to stretch mode.

My recommendation: 1. Set the STB to one output format - 1080i. 2. Watch SD as 4:3 because that will give you the best picture quality and no distortion (no short fat people).


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome