Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/)
-   Shaw Cable (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/36-shaw-cable/)
-   -   Shaw Cable analogue to digital migration (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/36-shaw-cable/138005-shaw-cable-analogue-digital-migration.html)

Shootmaster_44 2011-03-16 12:32 PM

Shaw Cable analogue to digital migration
 
I received a notice from my apartment building, who bundles basic cable into my rent, and was told that Shaw needs to install digital boxes to remain receiving basic cable. Makes no difference to me since I already have a HD PVR, an HD box (awaiting a new TV to hook it up to as it is a rental) and a SD box. But here in Lloydminster are they phasing out analog cable altogether or did my apartment building make this decision?

If so, does this mean that Lloydminster will finally receive all the channels Shaw offers elsewhere such as Canadian Timeshifting and Superchannel? I would assume this would be a solution to the finite capacity issue as I understand that digital has a higher capacity (possibly infinite like IPTV) and could carry all of these channels without a capacity issue.

DSgamby 2011-03-16 01:23 PM

Probably best to contact Shaw or the person who is in charge of your apartment.

I am like you, if my condo does go to All-digital. I already have 3 boxes. 1 HDPVR in m living room. 1 HD + PVR Expander in my bedroom and SD box in my gameroom.

You would need to subscribe to those channels to get them but they will be available to everyone in the household but those are digital channels anyways.

Shootmaster_44 2011-03-16 01:46 PM

Oh for sure. I was just curious whether Shaw was going all digital or not. I think the Canadian timeshifting is something that would automatically be added to my cable. I already get the US timeshifting and seems to me the two are all one package in areas that receive it. I'd have to see what Superchannel offers to see if I'd get it or not. Sons of Anarchy is on it, but I don't know what else they offer.

But I do have to talk to my building and see if they will pay for the SD box I currently have or how they are going to do the boxes as far as payment goes.

DSgamby 2011-03-16 02:05 PM

You need subscribe to the Canadian Timeshift to get them. The US one, before it was merged with the Canadian one was grandfathered in as the US one was free with digital cable.

I wouldn't hold my breath and expect your building to pay for the new boxes or your boxes. It is worth a try but like I said, I wouldn't hold my breath.

Shootmaster_44 2011-03-16 04:03 PM

That's what I mean is that I've only been a Shaw customer for a year and a bit. They had already merged the US and Canadian into one package. So I'm of the understanding, that the Canadian channels will simply be added to my cable since I am paying for the US ones.

DSgamby 2011-03-16 04:05 PM

That is not what I said. For you to get the Canadian Timeshift, you must subscribe to it even if you are grandfathered with the US Timeshift.

Shootmaster_44 2011-03-16 05:18 PM

But I am not grandfathered with it. They do not offer the Canadian Timeshifting here in Lloydminster, however to get the US Timeshifting, I have to subscribe to the Canadian Timeshifting package. Ergo, when they add the Canadian channels, I will have them simply added to my cable.

DSgamby 2011-03-16 05:21 PM

Oh sorry.

Then you will be getting the Canadian time shift channels when they do have them.

cslusarc 2011-03-18 01:54 PM

There are two methods for a Digital Cable Migration:
1. Full Digital: all stations including Basic go digital
2. Expanded Basic goes Digital: Tiers 1, 2 & 3 go digital while Basic cable remains analog

I personally like method 2 as it reduces the number of Digital Cable Terminals and Digital Adapters needed in the cable system.

A Digital Cable Migration should save Shaw mega $$$ in the long run as customers changing analog tiers will not need a truck roll for a tech to change the filter/trap on the cable line.

CastleRockDays 2011-03-18 05:40 PM

I have Digital Basic (no Tiers), but with the customers who don't have a Digital terminal, and have Basic and/or the Tiers, I agree with you, cslusarc. Method 2 would be a good idea.

ahleena 2011-03-18 08:55 PM

It is an agreement made with Shaw through the owners of your building, alot of apartment buildings are doing this, so for customers in your building that do not have a box they will now have one and be able to receive the complimentary channels that come with the ownership of a box. Has nothing to do with the fact your building is going all digital.

Going all digital means that an individual has decided to go with the Shaw Personalizer Plan.

Shootmaster_44 2011-03-23 05:35 PM

That's disappointing to hear. I realized it once I actually spoke to me property management company. I was hoping this was Shaw freeing bandwith to deliver Canadian Timeshifting and Super Channel. But alas it is not.

The explanation I received from the company I rent from is that when Shaw reorganized the channels in February, they moved some of the channels that were included in basic (and therefore included in my rent). To appease those tenants who had not upgraded their Shaw to a digital (or nearly everything like me), the owner of the building was installing boxes in each unit to allow for the channels that used to be received to be received. I don't know my neighbors, but for the two weeks when I first moved in that I didn't have a digital box (due to lack of techs to install it), I did have some channels on digital subchannels that weren't offered on cable here. I used to receive CITY from Toronto, EWTN (which isn't a big deal, though I do find Mother Angelica terrifying) and Vancouver Canucks PPV games for free.

jericho 2011-03-23 06:51 PM

Actually going all digital has nothing to do with Shaw's Personalizer Plan. You can still be all digital and receive their old packaging options.

Dieselfoot 2011-03-29 11:30 AM

I believe that some buildings are being converted to all digital if they have a history of being inacessible for servicing (hookups and disconnects etc etc). So that may be why it's switching to all digital.

tux 2011-03-30 03:26 PM

Not primarily. The main reason Shaw's switching to all-digital is so that they can stop broadcasting the 59 analog channels they currently have (Winnipeg count), which will free up tremendous amounts of bandwidth for digital, HD, internet, and any other advanced services they may have in store.

The ease of servicing all-digital customers is a side benefit, which will allow Shaw to connect, disconnect, and process customer service changes directly from the office, without needing to send out a technician.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome