Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/)
-   Home Computing (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/51-home-computing/)
-   -   Testing my own Wi-Fi security? (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/51-home-computing/133091-testing-my-own-wi-fi-security.html)

ClarkNova 2010-11-28 01:53 PM

Testing my own Wi-Fi security?

Is there any way to test if I have my own wi-fi setup secured? Athough I think I have everything setup OK - I don't really know and I am new to using a wireless router.

Is there a piece of legitimate software or a website I could use to verify my setting are OK and somebody cannot use my router for inapproprate use?

WestCDA 2010-11-28 05:18 PM

Provided your equipment (AP and clients) support it, use WPA2-AES security, along with an access control list on the AP - containing only the MAC (hardware) addresses for your laptop or any other additional equipment that will be using your access point. That's about as secure as you're going to get.

Additionally, turn off the setting for broadcasting your SSID - it doesn't secure anything, but does prevent casual users from seeing your network as available.

JamesK 2010-11-28 06:29 PM

^^^^
MAC address filtering doesn't provide much security. It's very easy to discover and spoof MAC addresses. WPA2 provides excellent security, particularly if used with a strong password.

WestCDA 2010-11-28 09:11 PM

Regardless, WPA2 + an ACL is better security than just WPA2. Any security can be defeated with enough work - compounding the security available makes it that much harder and less attractive for those who would wish to get around it.

Nuje 2010-11-28 11:38 PM

I think the OP's question (which I'm curious about as well) is not "how to make my network secure", but rather, "how can I test how/if my network is secure?"