Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/)
-   Cogeco (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/66-cogeco/)
-   -   Pace RNG200N HD PVR Owners discussion thread (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/66-cogeco/132093-pace-rng200n-hd-pvr-owners-discussion-thread.html)

jimmycooper 2010-11-06 07:36 PM

Pace RNG200N HD PVR Owners discussion thread
 
So, i trade in in my perfectly fine moto DVR, only complaint was I wanted a bigger HD and the expandability of the the new Pace models. Off to Oakville place I go and they exchange the moto for a shiny sleek black Pace RNG200n.

Well to make a long story short i am on my 3rd one and it still doesn't work!!

Phone tech has been no help, they are baffled. The display loops from "boot" to "d590" to "oo6" the remote will not function at all. I have checked all cables, even installed a new Pace hd box in the same location, works perfect! Tech claims that sometimes a test signal comes back positive sometimes negative. Funny though the pace plain HD box works perfect in the same location, and the previous moto DVR worked flawlessly. Another observation is that the optical audio ports that usually glows red on my other equipment and the new pace HD box never lights up on all 3 of these boxes. not sure what that means.

Also this model is not listed on the pace website, at least were I am looking. Tech wants to send someone to the house in a week.

I Probably should have left things alone and waited for the new stuff to get the bugs out.

Any suggestions out there??

DavidT 2010-11-06 08:41 PM

You got an RNG200N?

I was under the impression those were only being distributed in Quebec and that it would be the Pace TDC788D in Ontario.

Anyways, not sure what to recommend though, considering it's been the same thing with three units.

Edit: Just confirmed with a tech that no similar issues have been reported with this box yet.

I'll try to pick up an RNG200N tomorrow and see how it works.

jimmycooper 2010-11-06 10:36 PM

well , yes I'm on my 3rd unit, picked the first 2 up at Oakville Place, The last 1 at Burlington Mall. Still no luck. These units seem to be a mystery I cant find any specs on them. I going to hold onto this last one and call in tomorrow for help. I doubt if they will know anything different so I will book a service call.

DavidT 2010-11-06 10:45 PM

Yeah, none of the new models are listed on Pace's website. I've tried contacting Pace support by phone and email, no luck tracking down manuals.

Asawulf did manage to track down the Quick Start guide for the RNG200N, but it doesn't provide any support information.

http://www.cogeco.ca/export/sites/co...339200-QSG.pdf

jimmycooper 2010-11-06 11:07 PM

Yes I have that exact guide. It's very frustrating because I traded in a good moto with a lot of HD concerts I had on it. The whole point was to start fresh and be able to build a huge library. If these units don't work I have to go back to a moto that will really suck.

DavidT 2010-11-07 12:52 PM

Just picked up an RNG200N from Oakville Place. It booted up just fine.

It did display "boot" and then "oob" (not oo6, as in "out-of-band") for a few seconds, and then went on to download the latest software.

Haven't activated yet as it's still downloading.

If possible, try connecting it right to the main cable line coming into the house, before any splitters.

jimmycooper 2010-11-07 03:57 PM

So I'm going to give that a try. Is there a code for download. Do you think if that works when I place it back on the line in the actually room it will still work?

DavidT 2010-11-07 04:04 PM

Couldn't say, but... hopefully! :p

Once the download begins, you should see a four-digit progress countdown on the front display (99 99, 99 98, 99 97, etc.) It will take several minutes to complete.

jimmycooper 2010-11-07 04:18 PM

Well I hooked up the cable directly to the main and I'm still getting the same codes as before. Does your optical port light up as soon as the unit is powered up

jimmycooper 2010-11-07 04:50 PM

no luck , I have tried in 3 different locations including the main right from the road. I guess I will have to book a service call... great. must be something wrong with the signal, strange that every other unit works. Im up in north Burlington so maybe with all the local construction there be be a slight problem, who knows this is way past me.

what are the specs on this machine, does it have a 500 gig HD? it must be a laptop HD because you cant see a 3.5 " HD through the top!

DavidT 2010-11-07 07:12 PM

Haha, yeah that was the first thing I noticed. Was wondering "wtf, is this atually a PVR?"

Then I noticed underneath, there's an access panel for a 2.5" hard drive :) (500GB)

DavidT 2010-11-07 07:26 PM

Pace Dallas RNG200N HD PVR Discussion Thread
 
Might as well start up an official thread for this new box, as it seems to be replacing the TDC777D already.

http://imgur.com/8Ny1Os.jpg http://imgur.com/mwL87s.jpg http://imgur.com/JGag5s.jpg

I picked one up earlier today; here are my observations:
- It has a 500GB hard drive (Western Digital AV-25 2.5")
- Diagnostics screen lists 363hrs of SD recording space or 99hrs of HD
- S/W: 78.73 A28p0-4.1005.r-8
- F/W: 19.82
- 128MB of SDRAM and 64MB of Flash ROM
- It's much smaller than the TDC777D or previous Motos. It's not much bigger than the Moto DCX700.
- Seems to be just as cool and quiet as the TDC777D
- eSATA is enabled
- It uses an external 40W power brick

When I brought in my TDC777D to exchange it for this box, the rep I spoke with was well aware of the "HDD Full" issue and said they were accepting all exchanges and issuing the RNG200N as replacements.

jimmycooper 2010-11-07 07:26 PM

Well ah, i guess a second level Cogeco csr has called me back. I didn't take the call so I will have to call them back in the morning how's yours working is it much better then the mottos

profets 2010-11-07 08:54 PM

So what's the story.. this Pace RNG200n and 788 are both new PVRs that are available?

Kennaway 2010-11-08 01:30 PM

Power ratings
 
There is a significant improvement in power consumption for the RNG200N. It uses 19/17 watts. The 788 is not listed, but the 787 uses 31/25 watts. The old Motos use over 50 watts on or off.

The 550D uses 11/11 watts, versus about 35 watts for the old 6200.

Ratings at: http://www.energystar.gov/ia/product..._prod_list.pdf


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome