Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/)
-   Shaw Direct Satellite (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/11-shaw-direct-satellite/)
-   -   Upgraded internal HDD for the 630 (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/11-shaw-direct-satellite/131081-upgraded-internal-hdd-630-a.html)

zak88lx 2012-08-08 03:10 AM

I successfully installed the Seagate Momentus XT 750 GB drive into my 630 tonight.
The swap was a total breeze.

After factory reset and drive format it now shows 558 GB of drive space.
The drive temp increased by 2 degrees. The Factory 320 GB drive was 35 celsius at idle and this new drive is 37 celsius.

Scheduling and guide loading is noticeably faster.
It also seems more responsive/snappy in every interaction.

I would definitely recommend this drive to anyone who's considering an upgrade.

NTBugtraq 2012-08-13 10:14 AM

FYI, since nobody else seems to have mentioned it, the 25% of drive space that doesn't show up on the Diag R screen is for buffering live TV. The bigger the drive you install, the more time you'll be able to rewind live TV.

ralphf 2012-08-14 02:02 AM

Why 750 GB instead of 1TB
 
I would like to upgrade and am wondering why 750 GB instead of 1TB

NTBugtraq 2012-08-14 06:02 PM

Well, I opted for 750GB since I couldn't find a 7200rpm 1TB drive. I also couldn't find drives with a decent cache (e.g. 16/32MB), but could with the 750GB.

In the end my choice was a Seagate Momentus XT 750GB (ST750LX003).

junknspam3 2012-08-23 09:19 PM

Seagate Momentus XT 750GB (ST750LX003)
 
I just put the Seagate Momentus XT 750GB in this afternoon...so far so good. The receiver is acting better than before the swap. I too got the
dreaded message saying the HDD was full of protected recordings so
that gave me the incentive to swap out for a bigger HDD.

adit 2012-09-27 11:03 AM

I intend to upgrade my hard drive, as soon as I manage to watch all my recorded stuff, with this one: http://wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=160

This is specifically designed for DVR applications. It is avaialable online from a few retailers for around $115 for the 1TB version.

Momorider 2012-09-27 05:03 PM

I upgraded with the Seagate ST9750420AS so far it’s all good seems to be a better performer than stock.

ScaryBob 2012-09-28 05:14 PM

The new WD multimedia drives look like a good fit for PVRs. These are marketed as "red" drives to distinguish them from their other products (known as blue, black and green.) The red drives also have a longer warranty than the blue and green drives.

ralphf 2012-10-22 07:39 PM

Have you tried it
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by adit (Post 1449873)
I intend to upgrade my hard drive, as soon as I manage to watch all my recorded stuff, with this one: http://wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=160

This is specifically designed for DVR applications. It is avaialable online from a few retailers for around $115 for the 1TB version.

have you or anyone tried it? Is it working good?

gzink 2012-10-22 08:59 PM

No need any more now that esata can be plugged in the back.

smp01 2012-10-23 09:10 AM

yeh - I just ordered my 4.5mm gamebit driver last week. Still waiting for it.

I have an eSata docking station not doing much that I will try out. Still waiting for update on my 630 though.

7ninty 2012-11-04 01:05 AM

Did this just to see if it would work !
 
UPDATE with the Oct 2012 software update to Version 08.26 you can now replace OEM internal drive with 2Terrabyte one.

AND also add the 2T External drive netting storage space of

1825 + 1825 = 3650 G's

Going to be a workout to fill those up.

Ochato 2012-11-04 08:27 AM

The question is will the receiver be able to handle that amount of space?
Im wondering how it will perform when the two disks are near full.

Anyway that is good news, what drive did you install? I might change mine from 1TB to 2TB as well as I usually have my drive full. (I let the receiver delete automatically when it needs space).

Also the reason I dont like to add an external drive is because it will be also drawing power while replacing the one on the receiver the amount of electricity used remains the same. :)

ScaryBob 2012-11-06 01:57 AM

I will be sticking with the 1TB internal for some time. Haven't anywhere near filled it up yet. Have considered trying a WD Black to see if it reduces the dropout glitches though.

NTBugtraq 2013-08-13 07:55 PM

So my 630, that's been working fine with a 750GB Seagate since some time in 2010, has decided to have issues. Channels I have subscribed to show up as black air...recordings end up being broken. I called last week and they sent a tech to check my dish orientation and adjusted it, I went from 2.4db to 9.4db...good job.

However, since then, I lost all of my future recording info. I tune to some SD channels and get black air...iows, the unit is pooched. The tech I talked to last week offered me a replacement, but I said..."wait, maybe its just a dish issue"...so they sent the tech to check the dish alignment.

So today I called back, got a dick named "Paul". I told him exactly what I told the tech last week...yeah, I put a 750gb HD in the unit...now he tells me; "Well, sorry, but since you modified the unit you voided your warranty...you figure it out!"

I moved to Shaw from Bell because their techs weren't aholes...wtf?

So, beware, when I told him I was going to post this here he said he was going to make sure my account was sufficiently marked with; "He replaced the HD" to ensure his will would win...wtf?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome