Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/)
-   Shaw Direct Satellite (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/11-shaw-direct-satellite/)
-   -   Upgraded internal HDD for the 630 (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/11-shaw-direct-satellite/131081-upgraded-internal-hdd-630-a.html)

Sub Zero 2011-08-23 08:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by waldo617211 (Post 1302782)
Thanks for the info. My drive from ********** is coming today & then the adventure begins. I paid $110.00 plus taxes & shipping & they're shipping it from their California location. If I already have the receiver with the latest firmware, do I need to manually force an upgrade? I am not going to start the adventure until the new channel fiasco is resolved as I'm not getting them yet.

Out of curiosity, which drive are you trying?

ScaryBob 2011-08-23 08:39 PM

There is a $110 M8 Samsung, which now shows out of stock, and a $210 Seagate. WD also makes a WD10JPVT 1GB drive that sells for about $120. I ordered the WD drive from another vendor but the case socket has not arrived. The Samsung and WD drives are new generation, dual platter, standard height (9.5mm) drives but also appear to be in limited supply. I'll let people know how the WD drive install goes.

waldo617211 2011-08-23 10:23 PM

I bought the SAMSUNG HM100UI. It arrived today. I still have to wait for the new channel fiasco to get fixed. I don't want to start experimenting until I get the new ones. I wish sd would get going with external ports like bell/dish receivers. I have a hot swap dock in mind with esata when they get that port working.

waldo617211 2011-08-26 12:02 PM

How do you think the following setup would work? The drives are on sale right now for under $50.00 each. How long is the existing SATA cable in the pvr? This setup is for my external thinking.

Thermaltake BlacX Duet 2.5” & 3.5” Black USB 2.0 & eSATA Dual hard drive docking station holding 2 Samsung spinpoint F4EG HD155UI 1.5TB 5400 rpm SATA 3.0Gb/s 3 ½” drives.
And still no new channels!! What the heck????

ScaryBob 2011-08-26 02:51 PM

I doubt both drives will be accessible since only one drive is supported. Drives over 1TB are not recognized. There is also an issue with drives in external enclosures. Three strikes, the drive's out. ;)

Quote:

And still no new channels!! What the heck????
Typical Shaw BS. Sucks to be a Shaw Direct subscriber right now.

7ninty 2011-08-26 04:45 PM

External Enclosures
 
Work fine with the 630 receivers.

And they work fine even if have their own power source separate from the receiver itself

At least the ones I've tried from Startech, but they are only single drive docks

I replaced the stock SATA cable with a 24 inch one from local computer store


**530 receivers have issues with docks ,unless connected and powered from the receiver itself. That is they have to power up and down in sync with the 530 receiver**

waldo617211 2011-08-27 09:54 AM

Got new channels finally! Some docks have a " big drive " option that allows both drives to be seen as one. This won't help if there's a 1 tb limit, but if you have 2 500gb to use, it might do? Please SD - GET THE ESATA PORT WORKING!!

HDTVFanAtic 2011-09-12 03:04 PM

My 630 has a WD 320GB Drive in it. The unit is 5400 RPM (Thus, the 630 does NOT require a 7200RPM Drive as the Original is 5400RPM).

It failed with virtually no usage (while on a UPS so power was conditioned and constant - also in AC Enviroment).

The stock Hard Drive is an AV Drive (though it clearly did NOT help the life or performance of my Hard Drive).

The highest capacity in the WD-AV series is 500GB and can be found for ~$65, but given the failure of the WD-AV 320GB Drive, I am not sure I see any benefit of the AV Series.

From what I can tell, all 2.5" drives with higher capacity than 500GB are Laptop Drives, not specific AV drives (and only a few of the < 500GB drives are specific AV Drives).

I am seriously considering a 500GB Seagate Momentus XT Hybrid Drive, but will probably just put in a 1TB Seagate Constellation 2 Enterprise Class Drive (ST91000640NS).

Both carry a 5 year warranty, so I see little reason to worry about heat from 7200RPM operation (again, as the original 5400RPM drive failed with virtually no use).

ScaryBob 2011-09-14 03:31 PM

I just installed the Western Digital Scorpio Blue WD10JPVT 1TB 5400 RPM drive. Preliminary indications are that it works fine. The drive costs about $115-$125 from online retailers.

Sub Zero 2011-09-16 06:52 PM

A Third "Standard" 630 Hard Drive?
 
Curious. While setting up my 630, I noticed through the venting that the drive in the machine is a Toshiba MK3265GSX, not the previous mentioned Seagate or WD models.

Toshiba's "propaganda" indicates this drive is suitable for both electronics and laptops (although its reported specs probably exceed what is needed for a laptop). End user reviews are either at one extreme (garbage) or the other (great), nothing in between.

Given the existence of three different manufacturers of 630 hard drives, it would appear that the 630 is a little bit more tolerant in respect of hard drive variances than its 530 predecessor.

Sedg 2011-09-28 01:18 AM

Hey HDTVfanatic,

Did you, or anyone else for that matter, have any luck with that 1TB Seagate Constellation 2 Enterprise Class Drive (ST91000640NS)?
The specs make it seem like a good fit for the 630 application.... except for the fact the price is double. ;)

Gotta love the 64MB cache and killer transfer rates though.

Sedg 2011-10-26 09:17 PM

Bueller..... Bueller............... Bueller..........
 
Anyone alive in this thread? ;)
Probably not receiving notifications to thread updates as it doesn't auto-subscribe a poster in this forum.
If you want to follow this thread make sure you subscribe to it in the thread tools at the top of the page.

Back on topic.....
Would still like to know if anyone has successfully upgrades to the 1TB Seagate Constellation 2 (ST91000640NS).
Anyone?
:confused:

Sedg 2011-10-26 09:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ScaryBob (Post 1320999)
I just installed the Western Digital Scorpio Blue WD10JPVT 1TB 5400 RPM drive. Preliminary indications are that it works fine. The drive costs about $115-$125 from online retailers.

I've seen this drive start to lag or slow up in response time when you get it over half full of recordings.
The worst is when you have 2 programs recording while you are watching another recording. Picture pixels up and/or freezes. I speculate the data transfer, cache, and drive speed are accomplices in the hiccup.

ScaryBob 2011-10-26 11:58 PM

I've seen the same thing with the supplied 250GB WD drive so I don't think it's unique to the 1TB drive. Maybe the other makes are better but there's not much choice at the 1TB level. I won't buy Samsung drives because their Canadian warranty service is so bad. The Samsung 1TB drive is not much different in speed anyway. Maybe a 750GB 7200 RPM WD Scorpio Black would be better.

QCK 2011-10-27 07:50 AM

The 630 receiver has a problem with response lag once you get into a show that is recorded for 2 hours or more and you are skipping ahead through commericals. This problem is worse with stock hard drive compared to the the 1GB drive I put in.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome