Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/)
-   Bell Mobility, Solo and Virgin Mobile (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/198-bell-mobility-solo-virgin-mobile/)
-   -   Will your phone work on Telus/Bell's HSPA network? (https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/198-bell-mobility-solo-virgin-mobile/116420-will-your-phone-work-telus-bells-hspa-network.html)

TorontoColin 2011-04-11 12:14 AM

99%. Bell and Telus share a network; if it works on Bell it will work on Telus because it's the same network, as long as you get it unlocked.

alebowgm 2011-04-11 10:05 AM

Agreed with TorontoColin. The bands listed are compatable with Telus, so unless they have some jedi mindtrick to block the phone once its unlocked from accessing their system, you should be good to go.

NQUIRY 2011-04-11 03:51 PM

Thank you my fellow men, its greatly appreciated when people are not trying to fudge u over for your hard earned money.
I'll get the phone and will let yall know where it stands.

Foofster66 2011-04-18 12:25 AM

Sony Ericsson Neo with Telus
 
According to all the info from this thread, the SE Neo (MT15i) meets all the criteria for Telus network, yet it still cannot find the network when I inserted a Telus SIM card. The IMEI number is not recognized by Telus. Is there anything else I need to do? The phone is unlocked from Hong Kong. Thanks

http://www.sonyericsson.com/cws/prod...specifications

TorontoColin 2011-04-18 02:58 PM

That phone does not have the 850 band needed for Telus' HSPA network

alebowgm 2011-04-18 03:01 PM

I agree with TorotoColin. The link you provided lists the following

Quote:

GSM/GPRS/EDGE 850/900/1800/1900
UMTS/HSPA 900/2100
UMTS HSPA 800/1900/2100
Notice the 800 and not the 850. Phones on the new network need 850/1900 UMTS. So its missing a band. You MAY get some reduced coverage in areas that are 1900 only, but it won't be reliable enough.

The phone is probably good for Rogers on their GSM network though.

TorontoColin 2011-04-18 03:24 PM

AFAIK, Bell/Telus/Rogers don't actually use 1900 in their HSPA networks, they're entirely 850. They have the 1900 band though, so if they ever want to they can expand.

Foofster66 2011-04-19 02:31 AM

is there a difference with 800 and 850? can the phone be reprogrammed to seek 850?

JamesK 2011-04-19 07:32 AM

^^^^
800 vs 850 depends on where you are in the world. In North America, 850 is used, 800 in Europe. If it was easy add 850, the manufacturer would have likely done so to increase potential market.

BGY11 2011-04-22 01:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TorontoColin (Post 1250268)
AFAIK, Bell/Telus/Rogers don't actually use 1900 in their HSPA networks, they're entirely 850. They have the 1900 band though, so if they ever want to they can expand.

I can confirm that Bell does use the 1900MHz band. As I've played around with many custom roms on my Galaxy S, I've run into cases where the 850MHz band is disabled and my phone is forced to go onto the 1900MHz band until I updated the modem file. This was verified in the phone's engineering mode.

TorontoColin 2011-04-22 03:28 AM

Good to know. I know that 850 is their primary frequency though.

AT&T on the other hand uses primarily 1900 for their HSPA network.

800 and 850 are completely different bands, and phone are pretty much always stuck on the bands they came with.

robsaw 2011-04-25 04:08 PM

That 800/1900/2100 is almost certainly really a reference to 850/1900/2100. The 800 band for UMTS is pretty much Japan exclusive and SE groups 900/2100 and 850/1900/2100 on their international (i) versions and North American (a) versions respectively for most phones; 800 appears on their Japan market phones only.

Afton 2012-01-03 10:38 AM

Hi all,

I've been a lurker for a bit around here and you guys have been very informative and answered a lot of questions I had. However, I was wondering if you could help me out on this. I'm pretty sure this would work but I want to run it by you guys first as you are the experts after all.

I'm with Telus and would like to buy an Unlocked Sony Ericsson Xperia Mini Pro

I'm pretty sure this would work as it seems to support the Telus frequency. Can someone please confirm this? Thanks in advance!

TorontoColin 2012-01-03 04:11 PM

If you get the North American version (like the one Rogers sold) it will work. There is also a European/Asian version which will not work here, so avoid that one.

Afton 2012-01-03 04:23 PM

Awesome. Thanks for your help!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome