Can't connect new Bell Fibe box with old receiver - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2019-04-07, 03:40 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 1
Can't connect new Bell Fibe box with old receiver

Hi. I'm trying to get my ancient surround-sound receiver to work with my cable box. The cable box is Bell Fibe and unfortunately it doesn't have the rca outputs that I had in my old Rogers box. It has hdmi and a host of other outputs.

I was thinking of getting a new receiver, but big $$!

I came across a converter at Best Buy - it's an Optical/Coax digital to analog converter. I also bought a digital optical audio cable.

I connected it all up, but it doesn't seem to work. The connections are digital box to the converter using the optical cord. From the converter box I connected the rca cable to my old reciever just like I used to with my old set up. Receiver is on the TV/Sat mode - just like before.

FYI - the hdmi output from the box is going into my tv.

It seems like it should work, but it doesn't - no sound. I'm wondering if the Bell Fibe box doesn't actually have any output coming out of the optical output? Or maybe it's something else?

Any help/direction would be appreciated. Thanks!
Mikester123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2019-04-07, 05:08 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St Catharines
Posts: 1,261
Why not get a new receiver - here is a good one for $200.

https://bit.ly/2WRXsFT
dsspredator is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2019-04-07, 05:40 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,991
A few comments/suggestions:

1. When the HDMI is used, the optical output may be mute by default.
2. There may be an audio setting in the Bell Fibe (IPTV not cable) box to enable the optical output.
3. You could connect the optical output on the back of your TV to the "converter" and set the TV's audio menu to "external speakers" or whatever to again enable the optical output from the TV to the converter. The TV's internal speakers would then be muted. The audio would go "through" the TV.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2019-04-07, 07:15 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 7,781
As 57 said, try the audio out from the TV. It probably has RCA stereo and might have optical. Then you won't need the audio converter. Return for a refund because it doesn't work?

In the long run, getting a new receiver with HDMI is the best option. I wouldn't buy a $200 receiver. There are some decent receivers starting at about $500. The refund from the audio converter would be a start toward saving for one.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2019-04-08, 04:36 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,485
mikester 123, you did not even specify which bell fibe receiver you have? is it the 4K one? Ultra HD? Because I believe I read on here they sell a breakout adaptor that connects to the funny looking din connector on the back of the receiver that gives RCA audio and component video connections, maybe u can try that?
17671 is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome