TiVos for HD OTA in Canada - Page 95 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1411 of 1420 (permalink) Old 2019-01-30, 04:11 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 5,031
I'm having a difficult time getting Tivo to re-add RF35 (CTV2 Hamilton 35.1) to my lineup. It disappeared several weeks ago and I've not been able to record or view programming on this channel. Anyone have some experience getting Tivo to fix these types of issues?! So far I've been using the web support tool and it's been a frustrating back-and-forth where they end up claiming that I can't receive this station (I most certainly can).

Roof-top mounted Antennas Direct DB8e & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection. TiVo Roamio DVR
Jase88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1412 of 1420 (permalink) Old 2019-01-30, 06:24 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,356
I have lost a channel or two years ago but not lately. I would fill out the web form and within 2 weeks the channel would be back. I never had them reply saying they cannot add it. That is disappointing if it truly is a channel in your area. It sounds like someone just wants you to get lost. Maybe a bad employee. There was a lady named Margaret who you could contact via twitter at one time. I haven’t seen anything from her in a long while. The twitter address she used was ‪@tivodesign and I found her helpful. You might try sending her a tweet to see if she can guide you. Maybe escalate to management. Or post something on their forum. I’d start with Margaret.

Let us know what happens.
FunkyTown is online now  
post #1413 of 1420 (permalink) Old 2019-01-31, 12:35 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 21
You could try this

https://www.tivo.com/lineup.html

Tom
Jase88 likes this.
Brushape is offline  
 
post #1414 of 1420 (permalink) Old 2019-08-16, 03:23 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 5,031
With the recent channel repack, I'm once again at odds with Tivo and their slow support. Two weeks after the channel changes, and promptly reporting them to Tivo, and I'm still missing recordings and not seeing the guide reflect the new channel configurations. Oddly, CITS-DT Hamilton, which changed from channel 36 to 14, updated within hours on my Tivo. Other stations, not so lucky. I understand that Tivo is likely fielding a ton of requests right now regarding the over-the-air repack. Nonetheless, they could have been proactive and managed the changes much more smoothly. Hopefully the changes will be made soon.

Roof-top mounted Antennas Direct DB8e & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection. TiVo Roamio DVR
Jase88 is offline  
post #1415 of 1420 (permalink) Old 2019-08-18, 08:54 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 14
If you manually type in the real channel number, it will generally pop up on the channel list. I still have one station after the repack that is doing the same. I rarely receive the channel, but I seem to be having some nice tropo going on and have been able to watch it more than a couple times.
FunkyTown likes this.
DoubleYou is offline  
post #1416 of 1420 (permalink) Old 2019-08-18, 09:38 AM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,356
TiVo should be more on the ball and not leave this like that for weeks. I sure hope they are not letting their customer service slip. Thatís always the start of companies failing.
FunkyTown is online now  
post #1417 of 1420 (permalink) Old 2019-08-18, 12:44 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto/Etobicoke - Bloor/Royal York/Queensway/Islington
Posts: 1,598
" ... hope they are not letting their customer service slip"

It's never been the same since Rovi Corp. bought Tivo in 2016 (and renamed themselves Tivo). I was a huge supporter of Tivo after I bought my 1st (and then bought a 2nd). Not anymore.

A-D DB4e & CS5, CM 4221 & 7778, TiVo Premiere & Roamio
El Gran Chico is online now  
post #1418 of 1420 (permalink) Old 2019-08-18, 01:42 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,356
Itís really a shame because the TiVo itself is a great piece of technology with lots of features that canít be found elsewhere. Itís always been expensive but now with the decline in customer service I wonder how much longer theyíll be around.
FunkyTown is online now  
post #1419 of 1420 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 07:57 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 105
ATSC 3.0 and OTA Roamio

Will this be an issue for us Canadians who own an Roamio?

I know that when stations convert that they have to have both ATSC 1.0 and ATSC 3.0 available simultaneously for five years but after that will us owners be at a loss?

Also, I read that when the CRTC asked OTA Canadian broadcasters if they will be upgrading their equipment again and the majority stated that it was very cost prohibitive and that they will take a wait and see approach. However, American OTA broadcasters were all for it.

Any feedback?

Thanks

Last edited by Edwin; Today at 12:07 AM.
Edwin is online now  
post #1420 of 1420 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 11:06 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,356
My thought is that itís not a good time to buy a TiVo or any sort of tuner until they start producing machines that work with the current technology and the new ATSC 3.0. Itís annoying that they have to keep changing things. We were analog for decades and then went digital but now letís compress the video further and force everyone to buy new electronics again. Then in a couple more years I imagine theyíll be out with ATSC 4.0 or theyíll be removing OTA completely due to everyone streaming online. It takes about 2 years to break even after you buy a TiVo due to the savings from a cable subscription. If you can get 2 years out of your tuner before the new technology cuts over then at least youíre not out anything, but youíll need to fork out more dough for a new machine.
Edwin likes this.
FunkyTown is online now  
Reply

Tags
tivo

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome