Global (Vancouver) Now Testing Digital OTA Channel 22.1 - Page 11 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #151 of 342 (permalink) Old 2008-04-19, 02:37 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 325
With my T451, I am getting lots of bars but no pic yet. Maybe soon, eh?
bubba is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 342 (permalink) Old 2008-04-19, 02:57 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 57
CHAN-DT French Creek

NO Audio or Video

Network Information Table
Network Name: Global BC HD
Service Name: CHAN-TV
Provider Name: GLOBAL BC
Network ID: 1 (0x0001)
Transport Stream ID: 611 (0x0263)
Original Network ID: 1 (0x0001) Version: 1
Descriptor: Network Name Descriptor
DVB-T Frequency 0.001 MHz
Bandwidth: 8 MHz Constellation: QPSK
Hierarchy: non-hierarchical, native interleaver Guard Interval 1/32
Code Rate: 1/2
Current Network: True
Tuner: Channel 22 (521 Mhz)
Signal: Locked: 78% (21.250 dBm)
Network Type: DVB

Last edited by Benjamin; 2008-04-19 at 03:18 AM.
Benjamin is offline  
post #153 of 342 (permalink) Old 2008-04-19, 03:23 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 154
No lock

Nothing on my Samsung 260 tuner. Pauses long time on scan but nothing recognized. Haven't checked on my computer. Soon enough!
mdelleman is offline  
 
post #154 of 342 (permalink) Old 2008-04-19, 04:46 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Westminster, BC
Posts: 30
Here in New West. Signal fluctuation between 75-82% but no picture yet.
mieko is offline  
post #155 of 342 (permalink) Old 2008-04-19, 12:05 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Understanding what "Locking" is

Let's be clear about what "locking" is - when an ATSC tuner has all the PSIP data (arranged in tables) it needs to identify the station by its name, call sign, frequency, original channel, remapped channel, etc. etc. it can then process the AV data stream because it now knows where to look. It begins sampling the data stream looking for headers that identify the data packets so that they can be processed in order. If the data stream has less than "n" numbers of data errors along with a high Signal to Noise Ratio your ATSC tuner will "lock" onto the station and you will have ATSC TV in all its audio and video glory.

If you are scanning frequencies and a channel shows up with high signal strength, that's great but its not a lock until the above takes place.

In CHAN-DT's case, it is evident that the signal strength and SNR seem to be excellent for most people, but there is insufficient PSIP data to make a lock. If any of you are actually getting a lock as described above, please let us know asap!



stampeder is offline  
post #156 of 342 (permalink) Old 2008-04-19, 12:10 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 57
CHAN-DT and DVB network

I assume we arent going to see or hear anything until this network switches from DTB to ATSC.
Benjamin is offline  
post #157 of 342 (permalink) Old 2008-04-19, 12:13 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
PSIP Data problems

I believe many of you are seeing DVB because your gear is defaulting to it in the absence of PSIP data to clue it in. ATSC and DVB-T are quite similar in many ways.

Everyone please see this info about Global's PSIP Data problems: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=85061



stampeder is offline  
post #158 of 342 (permalink) Old 2008-04-19, 12:16 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,251
CHAN-DT and DVB network

Well one thing I do know when it appeared the first time the Network Type for me the unit id it as unknown.

Well perhaps the TX Guy CHAN will drop in and gives an up date this morning?

Last edited by danbcman; 2008-04-19 at 12:33 PM.
danbcman is offline  
post #159 of 342 (permalink) Old 2008-04-19, 12:37 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,251
chan 22 remap

Well this much is for sure the long term plan seems to have an HD chan and a SD sub 8.0 and 8.1
danbcman is offline  
post #160 of 342 (permalink) Old 2008-04-19, 12:38 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
But "dot-zero" channels are analogue, so are you seeing just that they'll have CHAN on 8.0 and CHAN-DT on 8.1?



stampeder is offline  
post #161 of 342 (permalink) Old 2008-04-19, 12:42 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,251
subs

What I saw was the intention to have more than one channel 22.1 remapping to subs I felt he was implying one would carry the local anologue and the other HD stuff?
CHAN TV
CHAN HD
ALSO just noticed the info report just grew by leaps and bounds...just did a scan almost but no lock
danbcman is offline  
post #162 of 342 (permalink) Old 2008-04-19, 06:13 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Port Moody, BC
Posts: 33
so any picture? I get signal in MCE, but no picture..
xboy360 is offline  
post #163 of 342 (permalink) Old 2008-04-19, 07:27 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bellingham WA - 1.5 mi. E of I-5; Exit 253 (Lakeway Dr.)
Posts: 294
:((

22.2 is still signal strength 35; no picture, no lock
2.1 signal strength is 73, beautiful picture

Can any of you report how far South of Vancouver you're picking up the picture on 22.2 ...

Any reports of it being received in Victoria across the water?

Bruce
levibluewa is offline  
post #164 of 342 (permalink) Old 2008-04-19, 11:03 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,251
chan 22 dtv

I see the network type is now ATSC that is a change.
The PSIP is now removed and being modified.
and less than a min later back to dvb?
danbcman is offline  
post #165 of 342 (permalink) Old 2008-04-21, 12:22 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by stampeder View Post
I believe many of you are seeing DVB because your gear is defaulting to it in the absence of PSIP data to clue it in. ATSC and DVB-T are quite similar in many ways.

Everyone please see this info about Global's PSIP Data problems: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=85061
Not sure its doing that. Im using tsreaderlite and when checking channels 19
and 35,with low signal and insufficient data to identify the stations,it first
indicates unknown network, then DVB network, and finally ATSC network
CHAN-DT goes to unknown for a half second then to DVB network.
CBUT-DT and CTV-DT immediately identify as ATSC Networks.

Last edited by Benjamin; 2008-04-21 at 01:21 PM.
Benjamin is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome