Signal Amplifiers (Amps, Preamps, Distro Amps) - Page 7 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 14Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #91 of 4350 (permalink) Old 2006-05-18, 04:22 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 88
closest intersection is martin grove & rexdale... ill post my results when i get the new cable... no buildings around me... i just did rescan and these are my current results

NBC 15-30%
CBC 95%
CTV 90%
UPN 65%
CBC-F 90%
FOX 60%
CITY 90%
SUN 85-90%
CBS <15%
PBS <15%
eliminator is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 4350 (permalink) Old 2006-05-18, 05:19 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
eliminator looking on the map from your location you should be able to get almost all the signals from Buffalo as you are still north west of the CN tower.

With a compass your antenna should be pointing towards 150-170' is this where it's pointing?

Its weird that you can get a stronger signal with Fox and almost no signal with Pbs.

Because you are currently getting the local stations properly then I would say its a cable or height problem.

A tip after you connect the new RG6 cable dont cut the length down yet, have someone hold the antenna and walk up higher towards the peak of your roof. Rescan and then check the signal and see if it got a lot better for Buffalo, this will tell you if you need more height.

Good luck.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
post #93 of 4350 (permalink) Old 2006-05-18, 05:28 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 88
its around 150-160*... could it still be the cable is the local stations are coming in so well?
eliminator is offline  
 
post #94 of 4350 (permalink) Old 2006-05-18, 06:01 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
Quote:
Originally Posted by eliminator
its around 150-160*... could it still be the cable is the local stations are coming in so well?
Definately can be the cable or the connectors, I posted a while back last year, that I helped a friend last fall install his 4221.

I told him do all the wiring before I reach his house. I would go on to his roof and mount and align the antenna.

I made the cable connection at the antenna and he the 3 other connectors. He did the one going to the ground block and from the ground block to the receiver.

Standing on his roof I can clearly see the CN Tower and I pointed the antenna 15-20' east of the Cn tower.

The max signal I could get on all the locals was about 8 bars. All I could get was Cbs @23 and Fox @4 to 5 bars and Pbs at 5-6 bars.

No matter how I moved the antenna the Buffalo stations would not come in any stronger. I knew the cable run was not a problem he was running about 40'.

I noticed that the cable connector at the receiver was not right. I held the cable and wiggle it a little and Fox jumped to a steady 8 on the receiver. All the locals went to 10.

I quickly recrimped that connector and told him to replace all those other ones outside he did.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
post #95 of 4350 (permalink) Old 2006-05-20, 04:13 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 88
ok bad news.... i tried a new rg6 cable... it made no difference.... signal strength is the same although it seems more stable.... could just be the weather though.... ABC, PBS and CBS are not in the channel list...
eliminator is offline  
post #96 of 4350 (permalink) Old 2006-05-24, 08:07 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 160
HDTV PHEMT Low Noise Amplifier

Talking about preamps. A good low noise preamp can makea big difference.

In doing my research I came across the following folks who appear to build the best preamps
http://www.researchcomms.com/hdtv.html

Unfortunately their preamps are overpriced for us - The costs of the units are:

Type 9250 £75.00 - preamp
Type 9251 £43.00 - powersupply
Type 9252 £20.00 - plastic case
Insured air mail to USA/Canada £25.00

Exchange rate is about 2.1 between CDN and GBP
OUCH! Cdn $290 or us$262 before shipping

The specs are nice though.

NOISE FIGURE - 0.4 dB.
GAIN - 20 dB.
FLATNESS - +/- 1 dB.
MAX. OUTPUT - 127 dB microvolts.

Look how low the noise is

A good preamp such as this would make even a smaller antenna more effective
z0z0 is offline  
post #97 of 4350 (permalink) Old 2006-05-25, 12:54 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 30
Channel Master 7477A Pre-amp

I recently got a Channel Master 7477A Pre-amp off ebay for $0.01 plus $25 shipping. The seller said that it is about a 15 year old model but it was still brand new in the box and never been used. It says on the box that it is a high gain low noise uhf/vhf with 300 ohm input and 75 ohm downlead. I have hooked it up and it seems to work fine. I'm guessing this model was discontinued and replaced by the 7777 model. The info included in the box doesn't even state the gain and noise levels. Anyone else out there using one of these 7477 models?
Murray OTA is offline  
post #98 of 4350 (permalink) Old 2006-05-25, 08:32 PM Thread Starter
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murray OTA
I recently got a Channel Master 7477A Pre-amp...
Murray, any chance of a photo of it with all its gear? I don't know that model and I can't find any reference to that model number in search engines. Does the CM packaging refer to it as a "Titan"?



stampeder is offline  
post #99 of 4350 (permalink) Old 2006-05-26, 02:13 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 30
There isn't any mention of "Titan" anywhere but it lists two other similar models as "7478A and 7479A". I did a google search for it before and was able to find one site that listed the 7777 as its replacement but I can't find it anymore.
Murray OTA is offline  
post #100 of 4350 (permalink) Old 2006-07-06, 10:16 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Question

I have found an VHF/FM/UHF 10dB Amplifier 50-900 MHz. Is this any good for OTA? I've plugged it in but since removed it. I didn't notice any change in signal strength (according to the DVICO software).

PS: Not getting very good OTA results currently. Hope it improves.
HT4Ever is offline  
post #101 of 4350 (permalink) Old 2006-11-11, 10:45 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: East York, Ontario
Posts: 32
Hi,
I own a 4221. I live in Toronto facing DVP. My apt is on 4th storey. I have DVIC O USB TV tuner.

I can get CBC, CTV 29dB, OMNI1-2, CITY TV, SUNTV, CBC-FR above 20dB signals.
I can intermittently get WNED 1-2-3 most of the time signal is above 16dB. 60% strength. But my most favorite channell WNED comes and goes.

I can also see other US channels. At one point for one day last week I was even able to watch channels 2 without any interruption.

From this encouragement I decided to buy an amp. I read this message yesterday and went to CC to buy this:

http://www.thesourcecc.com/estore/Pr...roduct=1501118


But the CC guy up sold me below and told me I can return if I want to:


http://www.thesourcecc.com/estore/Pr...roduct=1512506
Now testing it today I realized I bought wrong product (although there is a slight improvement on signal strength-about 3-4dB)

I think I need something like this (a preamp or booster):
http://www.solidsignal.com/prod_disp...=Large-6#xview


My question is where can I get this in Toronto at good price and well return policy(if it doesn't work).

Thanks

PS: Here is the list of channels I am able to see when I do a scan:
augenblick is offline  
post #102 of 4350 (permalink) Old 2006-11-29, 11:13 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 20
Preamplifier overload?

Hello,

I'd like to ask all of you who are using preamplifiers in the Montreal area if strong local signals do cause overload problems or not.

The channel master 7777 seems to be a popular model, but I'm concerned that its high gain might be a problem with local signals.

So, what are you experiences?

Thanks!
keeneye is offline  
post #103 of 4350 (permalink) Old 2006-11-30, 03:09 AM Thread Starter
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechMech View Post
About using a splitter in reverse, the ones I have are all rated 3.5dB (or more) insertion loss, that's a lot of attenuation... isn't it? Maybe I'm wrong but wouldn't that sort of defeat the purpose of the preamp?
You have to look at the sum of all attenuation vs. the sum of all amplification. If (using example numbers) your splitter and the coax cable itself is costing you 5 dB, and the preamp is rated at 18 dB, you are still 13 dB ahead. Without the preamp you might have unacceptable losses, but with the preamp you've easily gone past the losses. What if 13 dB is too much? If you put inline a 6dB attenuator from The Source then you are at 7dB and everything should be great. Again, those are only example numbers so you have to do the arithmetic. A combiner like the CM model is too much trouble to try and setup. A splitter/preamp/attenuator combo is the easiest.

Regarding the combining of 2 antennas, take a look through Yaamon's posts or ask him for advice because he's done a few of them and knows the pitfalls and positives about it.



stampeder is offline  
post #104 of 4350 (permalink) Old 2006-12-01, 02:24 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by stampeder View Post
If your antenna is pointed away from the locals you should be fine. If the locals and the U.S. stations are in a line then you might have high signal strength problems with the local stations. If trouble occurs my advice is to go to The Source and get a 6dB attenuator that you can put inline to see if it helps.
I was more concerned about overloading the preamp itself. Where I am, some analog stations from Montreal are so strong that you can get decent reception with the bare coaxial cable!

I'm pretty sure that there are solutions to these problems as well, but I imagine they're more complicated than selecting a proper preamp from the start!
keeneye is offline  
post #105 of 4350 (permalink) Old 2006-12-01, 05:09 PM Thread Starter
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
If certain stations are causing problems you can use a notch-trap filter, which you can buy from Tin Lee in Toronto:

www.tinlee.com

The Channel Master Titan line of preamps is excellent at rejecting overload. The Winegards are a bit more sensitive. I believe both have circuitry that shuts off the incoming signal in an overload situation, so the preamp would be safe but it would not be operating.



stampeder is offline  
Reply

Tags
amplifier , dtv , ota , preamp , signal strength

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome