OTA Mounts, Towers, Rigging Hardware - Page 4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #46 of 2047 (permalink) Old 2005-10-20, 10:28 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 38
I've actually got a spare 10' 1-1/4" Post in the garage that hasn't been used. I'll use that instead of the 'compremised' post.

thanks for the info
open6l is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 2047 (permalink) Old 2005-10-20, 10:36 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
open6l that would be good as I was going to mention that it looks bent right at the chimmney where you would need to mount the rotor.

If you bought it at home depot why not return the 1 1/4"ID and get get a larger one. Your existing mount will handle the slightly larger pole.

That one 10' new pole 1 1/2"ID would be perfect. Cut it in two pieces for the length that you need.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
post #48 of 2047 (permalink) Old 2005-10-20, 10:45 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 38
even for the piece above the rotor? the brackets that came with the cm4228 barely fit the 1-1/4" diameter...
open6l is offline  
 
post #49 of 2047 (permalink) Old 2005-10-21, 08:07 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
Opps I forgot the max size pole is 1 1/4"ID for the brackets that holds the antenna.

You can use back your other piece of 1 1/4"ID for the chimmney mount or slightly larger as the rotor takes up to 2"

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;

Last edited by Yaamon; 2005-10-21 at 08:13 AM.
Yaamon is offline  
post #50 of 2047 (permalink) Old 2005-10-21, 12:40 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 38
well damn.... put up a 6' 1-1/2" mast and my signal has dropped 15% across the board... my CITY and CTV which used to get 85% is averaging 72% now Guess I do need height afterall and a tower might be the only way to go...
open6l is offline  
post #51 of 2047 (permalink) Old 2005-10-21, 12:50 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 38
yeah - this is really bad... i can't get any US feeds over 40-50%... used to get 80-85% consistently..
open6l is offline  
post #52 of 2047 (permalink) Old 2005-10-21, 04:21 PM Thread Starter
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
I've been using 1 1/2 or 1 3/4 inch EMT (galvanized electical conduit) pipe for antenna and satellite masts. Its much stronger than conventional antenna pipe, and you can get it at RONA or Home Depot. I've had great luck with the sturdiness given that we sometimes get high winds off the ocean and that sea air is a bit more corrosive than inland. Galvanized is hard but if you need to drill it you can centre-punch it and use a good bit. I also try to use either zinc-coated or stainless steel nuts and bolts, but I find the zinc ones to be stronger. Also if you need to attach a ground strap just grind down a couple of thou past the galvanized and you'll hit the plain steel.



stampeder is offline  
post #53 of 2047 (permalink) Old 2005-10-21, 04:26 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
open6l I have one more tip for you. A preamp.

We just did a install at alebowgm place and he did not want his antenna too high.

Actually he wanted is as low as we could install it. You should see it its almost sitting on his chimmney and the lower bows of his antenna are blocked by his part of his chimmeny. But this is how he wanted it out of site and low.

We used a 8' pole and mounted it on to his chimmney. Toronto stations all came in all clear and strong but all Buffalo was ar 3 to 4 bars. Damm condo's.

The view of his antenna point right into a smack of condo's There is no spave between them to get any the signals. there was at least 7 condos side by side completely blocking the Buffalo view.

He also wanted a preamp so I brought a 7775 with me for the install.

After hooking and repeaking his antenna the Buffalo stations all went to a steady 9 bar out of 10.

So a preamp will help with the loss of signals that you have.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
post #54 of 2047 (permalink) Old 2005-10-21, 04:40 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,771
except for WNED/PBS which mysteriously has began to become pixlated and drop out repeatdly... guess maybe we will need to repeak, maybe add an extra inch to to the hight or something... signal comes in but then drops out...
alebowgm is offline  
post #55 of 2047 (permalink) Old 2005-10-21, 04:44 PM Thread Starter
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by alebowgm
except for WNED/PBS which mysteriously has began to become pixlated and drop out repeatdly... guess maybe we will need to repeak, maybe add an extra inch to to the hight or something... signal comes in but then drops out...
I sure wish you had all the bowties you paid for working for you and not hidden behind the chimney. That's the first correction I would make.



stampeder is offline  
post #56 of 2047 (permalink) Old 2005-10-21, 05:03 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,771
Well *someone*, wink wink, in the household wasn't to happy that a CM 4228 was going up... I think over time, I will have to peak it to not make it as noticeable...
alebowgm is offline  
post #57 of 2047 (permalink) Old 2005-10-21, 05:41 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
alebowgm maybe when that wink wink person has gotten used to seeing the antenna you can consider raising the antenna that all bow are above the top of the chimmney.

That should get you some additional gain.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
post #58 of 2047 (permalink) Old 2005-10-21, 06:02 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,771
That is the plan
alebowgm is offline  
post #59 of 2047 (permalink) Old 2005-10-30, 10:14 PM Thread Starter
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Examples of Bad Tower Installations

Thinking of installing an antenna tower? Here's a web page full of photos of bad tower installations:

http://www.tvantenna.com/support/tut...edgallery.html



stampeder is offline  
post #60 of 2047 (permalink) Old 2005-10-30, 11:18 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 15
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by stampeder

I hope this helps, and if I find any of those tilt calculators I'll post it in this thread. Is there a particular aiming scenario you are thinking about, bsr2002?
I have this big Magnavox Antenna MANT902 I think. I wanted to see if I could get some San Antonio stations.
bsr2002 is offline  
Reply

Tags
antenna , balcony , guy wire , installation , mast , ota

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome