HDHomeRun For OTA - Discussion - Page 18 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #256 of 266 (permalink) Old 2016-03-19, 08:33 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 5,036
Works on LG 4K Smart TV

I was pleasantly surprised to discover that our new LG Smart TV found and recognized the HD Homerun on the network. All of the available channels are displayed, and you can quickly and easily tune whichever station that you desire from your antenna.

The LG uses WiFi or wired network connections. The HD Homerun worked flawlessly via WiFi on the LG.

This is a good solution for anyone wanting antenna TV access, without having to install a dedicated coax run...or if the RF input is already occupied by a digital cable adapter. And the HD Homerun has dual tuners so more than one Smart TV is supported simultaneously.

The HD Homerun is growing on me. Now if they'd do a software upgrade to allow "add channels to line up" (to support antennas on rotators), I'd be a really happy camper.

Roof-top mounted Antennas Direct DB8e & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection. TiVo Roamio DVR
Jase88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #257 of 266 (permalink) Old 2019-09-06, 02:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Washington State, USA
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by majortom View Post
see how this works out on ur hdhr4... Keep in mind I only had 77 samples to work with, but it does look pretty linear.

Code:
(0.00991 * $15 + 45.3),"\t"(.00991 * $15 + 45.3 - 48.75 )
Slope	0.0099156414
Intercept	45.2737590943
You could do this command to detect the hw version to decide which flavor of dbg= output to expect... and thus use that to
determine which formula to use...

~/src/TV_Stuff > hdhomerun_config 103AB6AA get /sys/model
hdhomerun3_atsc
Many thanks to majortom and 905schmick for the leg work on trying to figure out how to convert SS% and DBG values for the HDHR3 and HDHR4. I've been looking around the internet for a while, and this is the only place I found information about it.

Also sorry I'm so late to the party.

I actually need to calculate the dBmV and dBm for the HDHR5 from the debug value, so I followed your process to calculate the linear equation with about 100 data points of SS between 25 and 99, and got this:

Assumptions:
1. The HDHR5 also defines SS as a percentage between 0-100% where 100% = 0 dBmV and where +/-5% = +/-3dB power.
2. The HDHR5 has 2 dbg values separated by a "/". I'm using only the first one and ignoring the second.

Equation:
Signal Strength (in dBmV) = 0.01 * dbg1 + 34.458

I just wanted to share my results in case someone else finds this thread and needs the conversion equation for HDHR5.
Nounours is offline  
post #258 of 266 (permalink) Old 2019-09-07, 12:03 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,709
Nice... funny how that works, someone always out there that has been down a certain road...
Mind showing the device info, how it prints out?don't have that one...

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is offline  
 
post #259 of 266 (permalink) Old 2019-09-13, 11:16 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rockwood, ON
Posts: 717
majortom, I didn't realize you've been a rabbitears Live Bandscanner for several years. Looking at your channel list at m.rabbitears.info, are you using some hacked hdhomerun software that only scans rf2-51 instead of 2-69?

36' 8200U-KT200-HDHR#1067A7DF / 33' DB8e-CM7777-HDHR#1067A183

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2019-09-14 at 11:07 AM. Reason: 3 posts moved from OTA reception thread
orbot is online now  
post #260 of 266 (permalink) Old 2019-09-13, 11:33 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,709
I do that intentionally, to save from wasting time..
a one liner, compile the library then install.
https://bitbucket.org/majortom/hdhom...192ffcab0f99e4

I do something similar to remove those channels from every application I use,
like in mythtv. Why waste ur time scanning those?

edit: in case anyone was interested, if ur familiar with hdhomerun_config_gui, you'd know that it's designed
to use VLC to play the channel ur tuned to. Well ya can't play very well if at all with VLC on a raspberrypi, so this one will allow u to
use a different player like 'mpv' which works really well on the pi platform.
https://bitbucket.org/majortom/hdhom...5549f082cd1b81
That is pretty much the extent of my tinkering with hdhomerun source code.

edit2: I forgot about this one. Some time ago I had noticed that when changing channels, if u let the tuner settle down a bit,
before moving on to the next channel, the SNR or quality reading would stabilize and be more accurate.
So I changed that in the library to settle down for me. https://bitbucket.org/majortom/hdhom...ece7c641559c4a
That means the snr or quality is probably more accurate than all the rest of them would be.

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is offline  
post #261 of 266 (permalink) Old 2019-09-14, 12:14 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rockwood, ON
Posts: 717
That's awesome! I didn't realize the 2-51 fix was so easy. I have non-tv signals on rf55-64 out here too and the hdhomerun software wastes time trying to lock them. Unfortunately I haven't had any luck compiling source code before (but I do understand what I have to change in the hdhomerun_channels.c file). Not sure if my computer is set up for it. I just got a new windows 10 desktop.

36' 8200U-KT200-HDHR#1067A7DF / 33' DB8e-CM7777-HDHR#1067A183
orbot is online now  
post #262 of 266 (permalink) Old 2019-09-15, 02:10 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,709
orbot, get urself a raspberrypi, and use it to get a little linux under ur belt.
I looked around a little and honestly don't think I have the passion to figure out
building programs in windows.

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is offline  
post #263 of 266 (permalink) Old 2019-09-15, 01:10 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,351
There is also the Windows Subsystem for Linux.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #264 of 266 (permalink) Old 2019-09-17, 07:33 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rockwood, ON
Posts: 717
majortom, thanks for looking into it, I also tried building the program myself over the past few days but just couldn't figure it out. Luckily a programmer on another forum was able to build the program for windows, so in case someone else wants a windows version of hdhomerun_config.exe with channel range of 2-51 or 2-37 for use with the rabbitears Live Bandscan software, here's a link: https://ln2.sync.com/dl/365fd3b80/at...hutqi-6ijfqfcq (I just copy/pasted one of the x86 hacked exe files over the original hdhomerun_config.exe file that came with the Silicon Dust software and it worked)

36' 8200U-KT200-HDHR#1067A7DF / 33' DB8e-CM7777-HDHR#1067A183
orbot is online now  
post #265 of 266 (permalink) Old 2019-09-17, 08:38 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,709
Nice orbot... Good man...
The beauty of open source software, if ya see something ya don't like,
you are free to change it.

edit: I haven't tested it since i don't run windows, but judging by the filename shouldn't the one be '2-36', and not '2-37'?
37 remains clear everywhere for astronomy.

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is offline  
post #266 of 266 (permalink) Old 2019-09-18, 01:00 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rockwood, ON
Posts: 717
The 2-37 file was sort of a "bonus", I mentioned that in 2 years there wouldn't be anymore channels above 37 and I might bump the thread one day, so the programmer built another file and I didn't want to bother them any longer.

I've been using the 2-51 file since yesterday and the live bandscanner is just blazing through now that it ignores the cell signals above 51, it's great!

36' 8200U-KT200-HDHR#1067A7DF / 33' DB8e-CM7777-HDHR#1067A183
orbot is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome