Home setup help - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 2019-06-15, 05:25 PM Thread Starter
Rookie

Home setup help

Hi all,

We've had VoIP (with iTalkBB) in our house for a number of years now. They provided an SPA2102-R which has the "Phone 1" port connected to a phone jack in the house, and the Ethernet port connected to our router.
Some time ago we had it set up so that all the phone jacks in the house use the same phone number.

Someone is moving into our basement suite and they would like to have a landline phone. Is it possible to get a second phone number from our VoIP provider, and have it so that it corresponds only to the phone jack in the basement? We may also choose to keep our current VoIP unchanged and add a new landline from Telus.

I'm trying to understand how our current setup works (I'm a complete noob), so I took a couple pictures of our Network Interface Device:

https://i.imgur.com/mJSpTlh.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/xDWQ5kE.jpg

In the first pic, the top 2 devices have no wires on its other side. The 3rd one has a blue/white pair going into its other side. In the second pic, there's 4 pairs of blue/white (same color as the wires on the other side of 3rd device) going into its other side, but no wires in the "front".

1. Can someone explain how this wiring works?

2. What are my options for adding a separate phone line for the basement suite, whether it's another number from our VoIP provider/Telus, and what needs to be done with the wiring if this is possible?

Thanks very much!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 2019-06-15, 09:08 PM
Veteran

The SPA2102 supports two telephone numbers. Whether the current VoIP provider supports that is up to them. Note that it is not necessary to use the same adapter. It should be possible to add a second VoIP adapter from any VoIP provider.