Anyone using an iPhone regularly on an MVNO in Canada? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2008-12-15, 08:37 AM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
Anyone using an iPhone regularly on an MVNO in Canada?

Just curious if this is common given the steep price of an iPhone.

The options are;
  • 7-Eleven Speak Out Wireless
  • Petro Canada Mobile
  • Primus Canada
Jake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-01-18, 11:11 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: \
Posts: 434
i plan on switching to petro canada eventually. $.20 per minute and the deposit is good up to a year. if they had a promotion where you got some free airtime with purchase of phone i would switch sooner.
jean luc picard is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-01-19, 11:27 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: A charted un-desert isle
Posts: 2,465
We're Apple junkies, so shortly after I got my iPhone, the Mrs. got iPhone Junior (1st gen, unlocked) and just used it with a Rogers PAYGO for a while.

But then she found a MY5 thing would work better for her, so post-paid. But it works. And you have an iPhone.
(no data, of course)

Now with there being an easy free softwarwe unlock for the 3G iPhone, you could go PAYGO with any iPhone (if you find one at a price you like).
Nuje is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-01-27, 10:57 AM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
Thanks. I am hoping to combine my GPS, music, video and phone gadgets. That is a short list of hardware. Garmin might sway me if the android GPS phone looks good.
Jake is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-01-31, 09:01 AM
apn
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 569
While I don't have an iPhone, I've been thinking about upgrading my SE W810i and the apple device would be an interesting contender.

Since I'm also on paygo (Rogers), I've been musing how one would deal with the loss of a data plan.

I'm curious if any of you guys have solved this conundrum or are you using the paygo network for voice and roaming onto (wifi) hotspots for data?
apn is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome