Buying My First Phone - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 2008-08-12, 05:48 PM Thread Starter

Buying My First Phone

Hello, I am a high school student about to buy my first cell phone. I am thinking about going with either the Samsung Instinct from Bell, or the LG Vu from Rogers. I would like a plan that is under $40 with unlimited incoming calls. Both companys have flaws with me. With Bell, I keep hearing rumors about being charged for incoming text messages. But with Rogers, I dont see any plans that contain Free Incoming calls.

Also, My father has been a long time Rogers Wireless customer, for about 8 years now I believe. Our home phone service is also Rogers. Is there any chance, that Rogers will offer me a good plan based on these circumstances?

Your help is appreciated
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 2008-08-12, 06:03 PM

The incoming message charges aren't rumours. They're well documented and the charges begin later this summer.

You'll have to decide which plan fits you better. I can't possibly predict whether free incoming text messages are more valuable to you than free incoming phone calls.

Also, you may want to check the coverage out. Talk to friends on each network to see how their phones work where you will be.

It seems to me that Fido has plans that have free incoming calls, but I don't know what the rates are.
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 2008-08-12, 06:47 PM Thread Starter

Thanks for your reply

I was looking at a cell phone site, http://www.cellphones.ca/cell-plans/992/

it has a Rogers $30 Mega Incoming plan which works out for me

Includes free incoming and it has 100 minutes plus 50 bonus minutes, does this mean that I get 150 minutes total

Is this plan availabe in BC?

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 2008-08-12, 06:53 PM

Check out Bell's student plans.

http://www.bell.ca/shopping/PrsShpWl...N____EN_Aug8th