The iPhone 3G Alternative thread - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 20 (permalink) Old 2008-07-05, 01:53 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sudbury ON, and Red Lake ON
Posts: 1,054
That's because the page you're referring to is the GSM Touch Diamond.

TC-P54G25, JVC Receiver, Turbosound Impact 50 speakers, Turbosound Impact 110 Sub, Sony SA-WM500 Sub, Bell TV 9200
Deckster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 20 (permalink) Old 2008-07-05, 09:51 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 656
Well, yes that's a different version of the Touch (the Diamond) but it does mention CDMA on that page, and makes no distinction between the WiFi

Quote:
Network HSDPA/WCDMA:Europe/Asia: 900/2100 MHz
Talk time: Up to 397 minutes for WCDMA
unless that is different from what we have for CDMA here. I'll admin to being very much a neophyte here -- quite frankly, I don't know the difference between CDMA and WCDMA, and I didn't realize there were multiple frequencies within CDMA and GSM.

Can we assume the Diamond does have WiFi for both CDMA and GSM?

Edit: The spec page for the Touch does list GSM and CDMA seperatly, and WiFi is not in the CDMA column. See: http://www.htc.com/www/product.aspx?id=362

Sony KDL-52EX700, Toshiba HD-D3, Motorola DCT-6416, Popcorn Hour A-110, XBOX 360 w/HD-DVD
g011um is offline  
post #18 of 20 (permalink) Old 2008-07-07, 07:49 AM
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,519
More posts deleted. Please stick to the analysis of competing options to the iPhone 3G.
admin is offline  
 
post #19 of 20 (permalink) Old 2008-07-07, 10:44 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 142
OKcomputer, don't forget to factor in, Rogers "unlimited evening calling" doesn't begin until 9pm vs the 6pm you have with Telus. To me, that is HUGE and with the $60 Rogers plan that only gives you 150 minutes/month, any calls you make between 6pm-9pm that would be free on Telus, will be coming off your 150 minutes with Rogers, or worse, costing you extra per minute if you're over.
salinger is offline  
post #20 of 20 (permalink) Old 2008-07-16, 01:17 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by g011um View Post

Can we assume the Diamond does have WiFi for both CDMA and GSM?

Edit: The spec page for the Touch does list GSM and CDMA seperatly, and WiFi is not in the CDMA column. See: http://www.htc.com/www/product.aspx?id=362
Telus page indicates the Diamond does have WiFi.

http://www.telusmobility.com/ab/pcs/...tc_p3100.shtml
salinger is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome