1900gsm coverage in Toronto - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2007-11-17, 09:54 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
1900gsm coverage in Toronto

Hi all,
I cant seem to find this one using the search so forgive me if its been asked.
Im going to toronto next year for a year and my phone is triband supporting only the 1900 band for north america. What sort of coverage might i expect with it or would it be necessary to get one with 850 support too?
Shriker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2007-11-18, 07:07 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,246
I know Rogers have the 1900 band so you should be ok.

"I've sworn off agnosticism, which I now call cowardly atheism" James Cameron
Mole is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2007-11-18, 09:01 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,107
This should help.

http://www.gsmworld.com/cgi-bin/ni_map.pl?cc=ca&net=mi

It is the Fido 1900 network coverage but I think it should be the same for Rogers.

Last edited by Jake; 2007-11-18 at 09:17 AM. Reason: changed link
Jake is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2007-11-18, 12:47 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake View Post
This should help.

http://www.gsmworld.com/cgi-bin/ni_map.pl?cc=ca&net=mi

It is the Fido 1900 network coverage but I think it should be the same for Rogers.
The coverage maps on GSM World may not be updated entirely, but Fido and Roger's both have 850 and 1900 Mhz GSM and WCDMA networks. Therefore, you will need atleast a phone that supports ONE of the 2 bands to get network access, but having 2 of the 2 bands will mean you will gain FULL coverage to the network including fringe areas.
17671 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2007-11-22, 11:32 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Westmount, QC
Posts: 310
GSM 1900 penetration is poor in buildings and undergrounds, where 850 does better. While Toronto has decent 1900 coverage, many of the outer regions do not. You really should get a GSM 850/1900 phone, although many people manage with 1900 alone.
mr_raider is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2007-11-23, 08:46 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,607
IIRC., The entire Rogers Network has 850 Overlay at almost all cell Cites now. So there is no such thing anymore like it used to be.
17671 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome