Nexus 5 announced, now available on the Play Store - Page 7 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #91 of 128 (permalink) Old 2013-11-15, 12:18 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Francois Caron View Post
See if you can get the SIM replaced for free, or at least have it cut down to microSIM size with a SIM cutter. An independent phone outlet might do this for you for less than $5.

DON'T pay $20 to $30 for a SIM! Those things cost the carriers less than 10 cents each.
May need a new one. GNex has no LTE radio. Nexus 5 does. They replaced my wife's sim at no charge, but we bought her S4 there.
pinto is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 128 (permalink) Old 2013-11-15, 06:47 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,605
And the SIM has to be programmed to support LTE. Right.

Hopefully, you can still get it for free.
Francois Caron is offline  
post #93 of 128 (permalink) Old 2013-11-15, 07:06 PM
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Francois Caron View Post
And the SIM has to be programmed to support LTE. Right.

Hopefully, you can still get it for free.
I used the SIM I had for my RAZR, which I think is three or four years old and I am getting LTE service with my N5.

Android rocks!
jvincent is offline  
 
post #94 of 128 (permalink) Old 2013-11-15, 09:37 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,460
@pinto.

You indicated you're with Rogers. Rogers corporate stores are supposed to give out sim cards free of charge as long as they activate them in store for you. If you do end up paying, the sim cards retail for $10.

Also, the sim card you have now may not be LTE compatible so trimming down your existing sim card may not be a good idea.
yyzlhr is offline  
post #95 of 128 (permalink) Old 2013-11-16, 07:51 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 230
Exactly.. thus I need a new one. That being said, let's look at other ways we're saving money on the N5. 16GB model from Google = $349. From Rogers $500. Don't even see the 32GB option available from a retail store here, which is the one I purchased.
Sometimes, when you have a great deal on a phone AND a great deal on a cell package, not rocking the boat is worth a few bucks if that's what it comes to when swapping sims My current sim is about 6 yrs old or more.
pinto is online now  
post #96 of 128 (permalink) Old 2013-11-16, 10:24 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kingston. On
Posts: 468
I feel the same way... I ended up paying 10$ for my micro sim, but got the phone from Google and have an awesome deal from my employer sponsored plan.

Now if only Sena cases would make a pouch...

Shaw Direct DVR830 / DVR 605/ 605, Sony Xbr65" 950E", Sony XBR4 850d, Oppo 980H, Yamaha 7.1 Surround, PS4! WDLive
Ouser is offline  
post #97 of 128 (permalink) Old 2013-11-19, 08:45 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 230
Shipped!! Finally!!! Here on Thursday.. or Friday.. LOL
pinto is online now  
post #98 of 128 (permalink) Old 2013-11-19, 05:10 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,111
right now my biggest beef is flash will not work with kit kat and xbmc seems to be broken too. booooooooo
redzone is offline  
post #99 of 128 (permalink) Old 2013-11-19, 06:18 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,064
^^^^
My understanding is that flash is being replaced (with HTML5?) because of security issues.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #100 of 128 (permalink) Old 2013-11-19, 07:43 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,573
Flash support on Android ended ages ago, you can sideload it though but its not been updated for a long time. Chrome will also not work with Flash so you'll have to use another browser such as Firefox or Dolphin.
brownstar is offline  
post #101 of 128 (permalink) Old 2013-11-20, 01:38 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,700
Well, received my replacement Nexus 5 yesterday. Hope it works better than the last one!
rsambuca is offline  
post #102 of 128 (permalink) Old 2013-11-20, 02:50 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsambuca View Post
Well, received my replacement Nexus 5 yesterday. Hope it works better than the last one!
What was the process like to get it replaced?
pinto is online now  
post #103 of 128 (permalink) Old 2013-11-21, 01:37 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,700
I went through it back in post #75.
rsambuca is offline  
post #104 of 128 (permalink) Old 2013-11-21, 03:48 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,111
you cannot sideload flash onto kitkat. they completely reworked the stock browser apk to chromium so theres no flash period anymore.

I use this stuff for streaming video (espn/ live sports etc)
redzone is offline  
post #105 of 128 (permalink) Old 2013-11-21, 04:06 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,573
Have you tried a different browser that has server side Flash? Something like Dolphin or Puffin should help.
brownstar is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome