Google Nexus 7 owners thread - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-09-01, 09:09 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
For Flash, the APK can be obtained, and you can use either Firefox or xScope (my favorite browser). You do lose the Chrome syncing ability, but it does allow you to use Flash.

(Actually, when you run xScope for the first time, it prompts you to download the Flash APK from a page on XDA-Developers).
BGY11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-09-03, 02:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 19
Flash on Nexus 7

Heh, yeah, just discovered that this morning while googling. The download was simple and easy and works like a charm. Watching last night's The National right now.

Poor Playbook.
practicalgeek is offline  
post #63 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-09-05, 11:43 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
At home I use Google Voice on my netbook to make outgoing calls. I just open my Gmail Contacts and click on a number to dial. Is there any way to do this in the Nexus 7? note this is for outgoing calls. Some of the guides online are for two way calling and involve rooting the Nexus 7. I am not interested in doing that if there is a simple outgoing only option.
Jake is offline  
 
post #64 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-09-05, 11:57 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,899
^^^^
You could install something like Dell Voice. That will give you both outgoing and incoming calls.
JamesK is online now  
post #65 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-09-05, 12:01 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
OK that was easy. I will give it a try.
Jake is offline  
post #66 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-09-05, 12:18 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,899
^^^^
You can also use Dell Voice on your computer. So long as you use it at least once every 90 days, you will keep the same phone number.
JamesK is online now  
post #67 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-09-05, 10:09 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary/Mesa
Posts: 403
Can't you use your Nexus 7 with Google Voice to make outgoing calls?
mellaby is offline  
post #68 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-09-06, 07:42 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,899
^^^^
Google Voice is not available in Canada, though some have managed to get around that. However, using Google Talk on a computer allows you to make calls via Google Voice.
JamesK is online now  
post #69 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-09-06, 04:52 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary/Mesa
Posts: 403
Ya, I use google voice all the time on my Chromebook and laptop. I'm leaving for Az in a month or so, maybe I'll hold off and buy my the nexus 7 then.
mellaby is offline  
post #70 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-09-07, 06:13 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Moncton, NB
Posts: 1,157
Has anyone got flash working without rooting?
habskilla is offline  
post #71 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-09-07, 09:17 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 403
You don't need to root to get Flash. Download the apk and get a browser that supports Flash such Firefox or Dolphin. Flash will not work with Chrome.

In HD, even the commercials are enjoyable!
DIGITALEight is offline  
post #72 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-10-05, 12:42 PM Thread Starter
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burlington
Posts: 24,794
A 32gb version is rumoured to be coming out next week.
james99 is offline  
post #73 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-10-05, 12:44 PM Thread Starter
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burlington
Posts: 24,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by mellaby View Post
Can't you use your Nexus 7 with Google Voice to make outgoing calls?
I side loaded Google voice on my phone and then installed talkatone which uses Google voice in the background.

It works great, I use it when on vacation to phone home for free. I have it on my phone but don't see why it wouldn't work on a tablet.
james99 is offline  
post #74 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-10-05, 12:50 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary/Mesa
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by james99 View Post
I side loaded Google voice on my phone and then installed talkatone which uses Google voice in the background.

It works great, I use it when on vacation to phone home for free. I have it on my phone but don't see why it wouldn't work on a tablet.
Thanks James, I'm leaving for the US in a few weeks so when I pick up my Nexus 7 I'll try it out.
mellaby is offline  
post #75 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-10-08, 10:38 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 322
Question

Does anyone use a lag-free app/launcher to add landscape support?

Sony 60EX645 | Sonos S5 | PS3 | Wii | Apple TV2 | Xbox 360 | 52W3000 | Yamaha RX-V620 | Mirage Omnisat 6
normancw is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome