Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich discussion - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #76 of 133 (permalink) Old 2012-02-03, 12:09 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 253
I have a GN purchased from Fido, currently used on WIND. I love the phone. Juice Defender helps a lot with battery life.

I wish I was on something a little higher than 4.0.1 though... still no OTA update available, although I hear some people in Canada on GSM devices are on 4.0.3.
WarrenC12 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 133 (permalink) Old 2012-02-06, 11:53 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,491
French carrier SBF has outlined a 4.0.5 update???

Hopefully true for the Canadian market as well.

http://mobilesyrup.com/2012/02/06/ga...#comment_pager

tech junkie, but recently it's been junkie tech
eimaj is offline  
post #78 of 133 (permalink) Old 2012-02-08, 08:41 AM
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 617
Has anyone else tried the Chrome app for ICS yet. It's pretty impressive the way it can sync your desktop bookmarks. It seems faster than the standard browser too. Though it seems to be missing the "read it later" and "choose desktop page version" options.
Veee is offline  
 
post #79 of 133 (permalink) Old 2012-02-08, 04:29 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 157
I downloaded it last night on my Xoom running ICS and for a Beta release (one a long time coming) it seems relatively polished.

Luceo Non Uro
Biggworm is offline  
post #80 of 133 (permalink) Old 2012-02-09, 12:09 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
While the Chrome browser is fast, they definitely need to work on rendering. Font sizes are all over the place (such as these forums or a site like www.dailytech.com). I will admit that form having is better than the stock browser though. Tends to follow the cursor a lot better.
BGY11 is offline  
post #81 of 133 (permalink) Old 2012-02-09, 07:30 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Oakville, Cogeco
Posts: 3,210
I have been using ICS Browser+. Is Chrome really better? I downloaded it last night, but it just looks like any other browser to me.
asif9t9 is offline  
post #82 of 133 (permalink) Old 2012-02-09, 10:25 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
I find it to be noticeably faster than even ICS Browser+, although I do miss the "Request Desktop Site" option and the quick controls.

I think over time the Chrome browser will be really good, but there are still some things they need to work on. Given that we are seeing this kind of performance on a "beta" platform, I can't wait to see how it performs in a final build.
BGY11 is offline  
post #83 of 133 (permalink) Old 2012-02-09, 03:08 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danster View Post
Well hopefully my Inc S will be in the next wave!
Good news, HTC has detailed the next wave.
Quote:
The first round of upgrades will roll out by the end of March for the Sensation, Sensation 4G and Sensation XE. The Sensation XL will be upgraded to Ice Cream Sandwich “soon thereafter”, the company noted. Additionally, other devices will also get Ice Cream Sandwich upgrades “later this year”, including the Rezound, Vivid, Amaze 4G, EVO 3D, EVO Design 4G, Incredible S, Desire S and Desire HD.

Rules of the Forum | DHC Help Desk
DHC now supports Tapatalk for mobile devices!
TorontoColin is online now  
post #84 of 133 (permalink) Old 2012-02-09, 05:31 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 492,823
Posts: 6,434
Awesome! Thanks for the link. I like my ASUS Prime and love my HTC....having them both run ICS is just like gravy.

Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is offline  
post #85 of 133 (permalink) Old 2012-02-09, 09:42 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 3,255
Finally installed it on my HTC Desire. I like it alot. Of course its a beta version is not 100% but overall i really like it. I always found it hard to stay away from sense roms but this maybe a keeper. I like the built in bandwidth alarms.

My HP Touchpad also is running an alpha version of ICS and its pretty amazing. not perfect by any means but a daily driver none the less...

These latest upgrades will hopefully keep me from buying another phone too soon. lol

Licenced HVAC TECH: "Without seeing your problem i can only offer suggestions, no warranty is included with my advice"
TKG26 is offline  
post #86 of 133 (permalink) Old 2012-02-10, 08:59 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Gatineau, QC
Posts: 321
Here's hoping that the OTA upgrade will hit the Nexus S at least by that time or hopefully sooner.
hamstercaster is offline  
post #87 of 133 (permalink) Old 2012-02-18, 02:03 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary Area
Posts: 2,443
Apps Missing from "My Apps" in the Market

Anyone else experiencing a problem where when you go into the Market and look under "My Apps" in ICS, about 75% of the installed apps are missing from the list? If I manually search the market for one of the missing apps, it recognizes that it's installed and gives the option to "update". And then that particular app is back in the "My Apps" list. But it wasn't listed there before and hence I didn't know there was an update waiting. Some of the missing apps have pending updates, others do not.

But I don't know why they disappear from the "My Apps" list? Anyone else noticed that?

And is there a way to have it search and re-catalog all of the apps that are installed on the phone - doesn't look like there is?
North_of_Calgary is offline  
post #88 of 133 (permalink) Old 2012-02-21, 07:15 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Oakville, Cogeco
Posts: 3,210
One thing I miss from the App Market is when the installed apps were listed in order of install date. Now it's alphabetical, which doesn't help when some of the names of apps aren't obvious.
asif9t9 is offline  
post #89 of 133 (permalink) Old 2012-02-25, 11:51 AM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by North_of_Calgary View Post
And is there a way to have it search and re-catalog all of the apps that are installed on the phone - doesn't look like there is?
I've had that happen in Gingerbread from time to time. Try clearing the market cache, it always makes mine re-index the apps.

Rules of the Forum | DHC Help Desk
DHC now supports Tapatalk for mobile devices!
TorontoColin is online now  
post #90 of 133 (permalink) Old 2012-02-26, 06:08 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary Area
Posts: 2,443
Ah, great suggestion TC - thanks for that.

However I ended up installing AppBrain will advised me of even more components with updates pending.
North_of_Calgary is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome