Amazon fire Tablet Unveiled (now available) - Page 8 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #106 of 111 (permalink) Old 2011-11-30, 10:31 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 626
This was bound to happen since Amazon's whole go-to-market strategy is to have you use their ecosystem for everything so they can make money. If Fire users can circumvent the Amazon ecosystem then they have no hope of making a profit on the Fire tablet that is being sold at a loss otherwise.
Gino Cerullo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #107 of 111 (permalink) Old 2011-11-30, 10:20 PM
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burlington
Posts: 24,794
I received the update tonight and it disabled my Android Market app. Everything else was fine.

So, i re-rooted the device and re-installed the market place.


All is fine once again.
james99 is offline  
post #108 of 111 (permalink) Old 2011-12-11, 07:07 PM
jpb
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 39
Silk video

One thing I've noticed, without doing anything special at all (no vpn's no ip hiding) I have access to all the full episodes available on CBS, ABC, Nbc and fox websites. If I uncheck the "accelerate" option the sites recognize I'm in Canada and I am back to no access. Unfortunately Amazon itself does recognize I'm not in the US of course.
jpb is offline  
 
post #109 of 111 (permalink) Old 2011-12-20, 08:41 AM
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burlington
Posts: 24,794
Kindle Fire's 6.2.1 update breaks root, disables SuperOneClick utility

Just when you thought it was safe to root your Kindle Fire with a single click, Amazon has clamped down on homebrewing enthusiasts.

The game of cat and mouse continues.
james99 is offline  
post #110 of 111 (permalink) Old 2011-12-20, 08:53 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: DDO, Videotron, Cisco 8642HD
Posts: 303
As someone pointed out in the thread, typically any firmware breaks root, so nothing new...
Fonceur is offline  
post #111 of 111 (permalink) Old 2012-01-02, 05:27 PM
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burlington
Posts: 24,794
Well this is different since Amazon is a provider of software unlike most phone manufacturers and they prevented re-rooting using the same software.

On another note, new software came out to re-root.

The game of cat and mouse continues.

Other s/w came out that prevents the auto updating of device.

I just came back from holidays in the Dominican Republic and it was Blackberry heaven, I think I had the only Android tablet. A few Ipads and plenty of Playbooks and Blackberrys.
james99 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome