Android Market in Canada - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 24 (permalink) Old 2010-03-16, 12:27 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 926
Just saw today that full paid apps are now available in the Canadian Android market.
Stargazer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 24 (permalink) Old 2010-03-16, 04:35 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Can anyone else confirm ?
thatdaveguy is offline  
post #18 of 24 (permalink) Old 2010-03-16, 09:09 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 228
Paid apps are working for me and it's been confirmed in several blogs and forum posts. Only problem I have is my market application doesn't show the top paid tab, one user claims it will appear after a factory refresh but that is something I would prefer to avoid.
gnunn is offline  
 
post #19 of 24 (permalink) Old 2010-03-16, 09:48 AM
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,469
Yeah, I saw that yesterday when I did my weekly-ish troll of the market for new stuff.

I haven't looked too hard at paid apps yet but I doubt I'd pay more than $1 for anything. All the neat stuff is free from Google anyway.

Android rocks!
jvincent is offline  
post #20 of 24 (permalink) Old 2010-03-16, 01:19 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 258
No love for Telus users yet. It's still pretty easy to get paid apps if you have a sim card from a U.S. carrier (I use an AT&T sim), but it would be nice to be able to get there directly.
timmy1 is offline  
post #21 of 24 (permalink) Old 2010-03-16, 02:51 PM
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 617
The Nexus One is officially shipping to Canada now (Rogers 3G only).

https://www.google.com/phone/choose?hl=en&gl=CA&s7e=

Coincidence?

Edit: It looks like the T-Mobile (Wind) version can be shipped to Canada too.
Veee is offline  
post #22 of 24 (permalink) Old 2010-03-16, 03:09 PM
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,469
Interesting. I might have to put one on my Xmas list.

Android rocks!
jvincent is offline  
post #23 of 24 (permalink) Old 2010-03-18, 03:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
The Nexus One works on Bell/Telus as well despite what the Goog says.
thatdaveguy is offline  
post #24 of 24 (permalink) Old 2010-03-19, 08:53 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 258
I now have direct access to paid apps on my Telus Milestone. We just lagged Rogers by a couple of days.
timmy1 is offline  
Reply

Tags
android , apps , crtc , google , rogers

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome