Can SIM cards be reactivated with different number? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 2009-08-31, 12:41 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 300
Can SIM cards be reactivated with different number?

I have a de-activated SIM card from a PAYG account. This SIM card is actually quite a bit newer than the SIM card I'm using in my monthly plan phone. My understanding is that SIM cards will deteriorate over time. So I'm wondering if I can re-activate the PAYG SIM to use with my monthly plan phone #?
GSMfan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 2009-08-31, 01:28 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 3,022
Sure, I've done it.
99semaj is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 2009-08-31, 05:33 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,570
nope. the billing systems used by the major carriers (Bell, telus, rogers, at&t, Cingular, T-mobile) will not allow an imsi (from a sim card)to be re-used in the system once its been assigned already.
17671 is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 2009-08-31, 07:46 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paolo View Post
nope. the billing systems used by the major carriers (Bell, telus, rogers, at&t, Cingular, T-mobile) will not allow an imsi (from a sim card)to be re-used in the system once its been assigned already.
But the SIM can be re-activated for the same phone #, correct? I'm basing this on the fact that when I elected to let the PAYG account lapse, Rogers told me that they would "hold" that phone # for 6 months within which time I can revive the account.
GSMfan is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 2009-08-31, 08:52 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 3,022
I still maintain I've done it with no problem. In my case, I was the account owner before and after, but it had nothing to do with the phone number assigned to it.
99semaj is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 2009-09-01, 11:49 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rogers Specialist, Downtown Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 578
SIM cards can only be activated once. You can change phone numbers on an account but you can't activate/de-activate and re-activate the same SIM. For example if I have a SIM card and lose my phone(with SIM in it), I have to go buy another SIM. Once I activate the new SIM, the old one in the phone I lost will no longer work and cannot ever be re-activated for any account. With Pay As You Go as long as you add time to your account (or call in to have the ACCOUNT re-activated if it was deactivated) within 6 months then that's ok. Technically the account still exists it's just not accessible, that's why it can be re-activated but not past the 6-month window for prepaid. I don't know what the rules are exactly but I think prepaid accounts stop working after 3 months of no-use.

Shaw Xtreme-I,HD(DCT3416),Phone | Iphone 3GS,BlackBerry Bold (Rogers) | 42" 1080P,7.1 Sound,Xbox 360 Elite,Blu-ray HTPC
rileyparrish is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 2009-09-01, 04:24 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 300
"...you can't activate/de-activate and re-activate the same SIM.'

That may not be quite true. Last week I did a hardware upgrade. I called Rogers to activate the new SIM that came with the phone, which, as you said, automatically de-activated the old SIM. However, right after that, even before I had a chance to place one call on the new phone, I discovered a defect with the phone. I called Rogers, and the csr advised me to return the phone to the Rogers Wireless store that I got it from, and he advised me to return everything, including the SIM card. He then re-activated my old SIM. Now, mind you, the old SIM was de-activated and re-activated within 24 hours, so perhaps you can do that if a certain length of time hasn't elapsed. That I don't know for sure.

What 99semaj said may be true too....SIM may be assigned to accounts, rather than phone #s. So if there are several phones under one account, you may be able to re-use a SIM for a different # under the same account. Again, I'm speculating.
GSMfan is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 2009-09-01, 05:49 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,118
Quote:
SIM may be assigned to accounts, rather than phone #s.
This should be obvious since you can go to the Rogers site and request a new phone number from what I can tell under Manage My Wireless Services. I cannot comment on the SIM question.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 2009-09-04, 07:02 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 56
Phyically you can do what you want with a SIM. It's what protections the carrier has in place. SIM's can be duplicated, copied erased, whatever as long as you have the equipment to do so, and is hard to come by. BUT depending on the carrier and they way they have it set up to extort dollars from your wallet I would say it is impossible to reactivate a SIM as then the CELL company doesn't get to sell you ANOTHER SIM. SIM's are just encoded memory chips, nothing more nothing less. How do you think crooks get free cell phones and service? They steal it using cloned phones!! Simple!

NO you cannot reactivate a SIM once the cell carrier has DOA'd it in their database!
randdon is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 2009-09-04, 09:06 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 300
But surely the carrier can re-activate a SIM.
GSMfan is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 2009-09-04, 10:23 PM
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 781
From a technical perspective, it depends what happens to the SIM. If they simply change the SIM card number on your account, the other SIM is still technically useable. However if they send a 'kill' command to your SIM which they usually do if you report your phone lost or stolen, then that causes the SIM to destroy some of its data and then it cannot be used.

From a policy perspecitve, 9 times out of 10, you will not be allowed to reactivate a SIM card that was previously activated and then deactivated.
dcomp11 is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 2009-09-05, 09:11 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSMfan View Post
"...you can't activate/de-activate and re-activate the same SIM.'

That may not be quite true. Last week I did a hardware upgrade. I called Rogers to activate the new SIM that came with the phone, which, as you said, automatically de-activated the old SIM. However, right after that, even before I had a chance to place one call on the new phone, I discovered a defect with the phone. I called Rogers, and the csr advised me to return the phone to the Rogers Wireless store that I got it from, and he advised me to return everything, including the SIM card. He then re-activated my old SIM. Now, mind you, the old SIM was de-activated and re-activated within 24 hours, so perhaps you can do that if a certain length of time hasn't elapsed. That I don't know for sure.

What 99semaj said may be true too....SIM may be assigned to accounts, rather than phone #s. So if there are several phones under one account, you may be able to re-use a SIM for a different # under the same account. Again, I'm speculating.
thats different. the imsi was already in the accounts history as being previously used. so yes you can re-activate it no problem, ive seen this before, but activating a imsi that was used on someone elses account somehow sets off red flags in the air, and sirens go off., this is mighty suspicious activity, so of course they will not allow it.
17671 is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 2009-09-05, 09:13 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by 57 View Post
This should be obvious since you can go to the Rogers site and request a new phone number from what I can tell under Manage My Wireless Services. I cannot comment on the SIM question.
of course, you can change your telephone number and keep the same sim. People seem to think the sim is tied to the telephone number. but sims when they are new, have no information on them, when you buy a phone, the info gets transmitted onto the sim. the sim is identified by its iccid or imsi number. which always stays the same
17671 is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 2009-09-05, 08:04 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 3,022
To be clear, when I re-used a SIM, it hadn't been flagged as lost or stolen. Just an unused SIM from my junk box.
99semaj is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 2012-08-12, 06:10 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Victoria
Posts: 577
Digging up an old thread...

Here's what happened. Had my son's iphone 3GS with Telus. I called to cancel the service and was told I had to wait 3 weeks. In the meantime we signed with Rogers and ported his Telus number over. At this point his iphone still has a sim card with Telus although no number associated with it. Today we were in the mall and got back to the car and no iphone. Either he lost it or was picked.

He did have an unlock pin on the display but we have no way of tracking it (as it has no number associated with it). Can telus assign another temp number to the phone even though his original has been ported over already? At least then we would be able to track the phone.

Is there anything else we should do in the meantime (would "wiping" the phone be a good idea). We are still hoping someone might turn it in although that is a longshot.
Nighthawk 1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome