Data plans, how much is 500MB? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-06-17, 05:40 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Maple Ridge, BC
Posts: 72
Data plans, how much is 500MB?

In terms a simple layman like myself can understand how much data is 500 MB or even how much data is 1kb? If possible in terms of web pages or whatever common measure is used.

Considering an iPhone 3G S from Fido but not sure of the data issue.
fionn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-06-18, 01:02 PM
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 516
If you are a casual internet user and don't download a lot of youtube videos, 500 meg is fine for most. However Rogers right now has a 6 Gig for $30 plan that guarantees you never go over and is only a bit more expensive per month than a regular 500 meg plan.

I've read many threads of folks who have never gone over 500 meg in a month.
Drainc is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-06-18, 01:42 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ottawa,sony kdfe42a10,rogers 8300HD,oppo 971H,STRDG820,Energy take classic,ps3,macbook,No mon$ters
Posts: 99
this is a good example from rogers

http://www.rogers.com/web/content/wi...setProvince=ON
VoltesV is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-06-18, 02:46 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nepean, ON
Posts: 370
I'm on the 6GB plan but I've only used 700MB since September of last year. I mainly uses it for email and occasional web surfing.

Sanyo Z700, RX-V1800, DMP-BD35, XBox 360, Apple TV 2, Paradigm Monitor 7, Athena AS-B1, AS-C1, AS-R1
uberchuckie is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-06-18, 06:42 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Maple Ridge, BC
Posts: 72
Thanks all for the info, especially to VoltesV for the link to Rogers
fionn is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-06-18, 07:39 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nepean, ON
Posts: 370
If tethering is important to you, check to see which data plan allows you to do it. I know that for Rogers, you must have the 1GB (or more) data plan.

Sanyo Z700, RX-V1800, DMP-BD35, XBox 360, Apple TV 2, Paradigm Monitor 7, Athena AS-B1, AS-C1, AS-R1
uberchuckie is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome