SaskTel MAX Digital TV Recorder - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 2007-07-02, 05:32 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 986
SaskTel MAX Digital TV Recorder

On the Sasktel web site:
"Digital TV Recorder is here! Pause rewind, and record live TV."

The link goes to a blank page now.

This explains the "recordable" indicators that I've noticed in program info.

It looks like they're ready to introduce their PVR.
SportsFan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 2007-07-02, 09:55 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 679
So it's just an SD PVR then? Guess I will be staying with Shaw then for sure.
smegger2000 is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 2007-07-23, 04:30 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Not sure on the release date, but the PVR will do HD when it is released.

Due to bandwidth issues, recording one channel while watching another will be limited to SD channels until migration to VDSL2
captaintrav is offline  
 
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 2007-07-23, 06:49 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Regina
Posts: 721
When's the migration going to take place?
painter is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 2007-08-14, 03:05 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 986
Rumour has it that it will be very similar to this box:
http://broadband.motorola.com/catalo...?ProductID=442
SportsFan is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 2007-08-14, 11:06 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 100
That may be what, the question now is when?
walker18 is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 2007-08-16, 02:24 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 41
I had heard from someone on the inside that it was going to be the VIP1216 (the 160GB version of the VIP1208 SportsFan linked to) but until I see it in person, it is all rumour and speculation.

One thing to keep in mind is that even though the hardware may support HD recording, this feature may not be available as there may not be enough bandwidth to support two HD streams. They could probably allow recording one HD stream while watching an SD stream (or vice versa) but I doubt they want the headache of explaining to people why they can't record and watch two different HD streams.
Monk is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 2007-08-24, 03:24 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 41
Yup, it's the VIP1216. I know a beta tester.

Mucked about with it for a bit. Your current channel is now visible on the guide page so you don't have to miss your show. The OS is Windows-based but the interface has been completely redone for Max; it looks almost identical to my grey Pace box with a few tweaks. I couldn't get any signal from the optical or component connectors, but RF, composite and S-video all worked simultaneously. Neither the TV nor receiver has HDMI so I couldn't test it.

I won't comment on stability and speed issues as it is definitely running beta software. (I managed to crash the box within five minutes of grabbing the remote, but I suppose that's the reason for the beta test.)

If there's anything specific you want me to test, let me know.
Monk is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 2007-09-02, 10:06 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,056
I heard this is launching Tues Sept 4 2007
Neild is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 2007-09-04, 08:06 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 100
I just got off the phone with Sasktel. My install for my DVR is set for Sept. 19. The cost is $9.99/month per box. Me sales rep said I could have one HD box and one SD. I didn't ask about recording more than one program at a time. She did say that they felt it was very stable and they had held off releasing it for several weeks to work out the bugs.
walker18 is offline  
post #11 of 19 (permalink) Old 2007-09-07, 08:07 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 41
You can only record one program at a time. And only SD.
Monk is offline  
post #12 of 19 (permalink) Old 2007-09-08, 11:54 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Regina, Sask
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monk View Post
You can only record one program at a time. And only SD.
My information states SD DTVR is "watch and record" and customers who want HD DTVR will be "watch what you record" at this time. Additional bandwidth will be deployed later in the year to allow HD DTVR customers to have "watch and record" capabilities. All DTVR customers will get the same STB, the Moto VIP1216.
terrier1 is offline  
post #13 of 19 (permalink) Old 2007-09-08, 12:03 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Regina, Sask
Posts: 7
Thumbs up DTVR install

My DTVR is SD and so far responds as requested. Install was painless and instruction was simple, even comes with a booklet. Recordings look great and benchmark is 100 hours on SD recordings and about 25 if HD DTVR. Grooming of course is left to the user.
All in all so far, it's a thumbs up.

Last edited by terrier1; 2007-09-08 at 12:04 PM. Reason: spelling mistake
terrier1 is offline  
post #14 of 19 (permalink) Old 2007-09-08, 02:52 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Langenburg SK
Posts: 4
So with the HD DTVR i cant record a show and watch a show at the same time even if the show that i am recording is in SD?
HDTV 66 is offline  
post #15 of 19 (permalink) Old 2007-09-09, 01:19 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Regina, Sask
Posts: 7
My understanding is that the IPTV STB controls the functionality, not the individual shows. If you get a HD DTVR STB, regardless of what signal the content provider pushs (SD or HD) to the channel, you require the HD bandwidth. If you get a SD DTVR you must have adequate bandwidth to watch and record.
terrier1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome