Sasktel Max Installation methods - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 2007-02-04, 11:49 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 30
Sasktel Max Installation methods

They will be connecting 4 STBs as well as an existing network [1 wired device and 3 wireless devices - third-party (not HomeNet)]. What are the installation methods for Sasktel Max services? Will they use existing coaxial cable wires, or install ethernet wires? All I know is that a $99 installation fee for leaving the service would be easily outweighed cost-wise if they were to wire the house with Cat5. Also, if they were to take this option, how is this process performed without damage to the cable or house structure?
DustinC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 2007-02-05, 11:56 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 41
They won't use coax. The entire wired network will be Cat-5.
Monk is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 2007-02-21, 12:51 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14
Never say never......it really depends on the scenario. Cat 5E is definately the install of choice, but coax can be used if no other options are present, or the customer does not want surface wire running to that specific location. Coax cannot be used for internet runs.
WSLN 6 is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 2007-02-24, 05:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 30
I decided to wait until Sasktel goes FTTP (supposively by the end of the year). Hopefully the infrastructure will be similiar to Verizon's FiOS so they can utilize the existent coaxial networks in the customer's home. It would make it a heck of a lot cheaper for Sasktel (ethernet wiring is at about an estimated US$800). All they need to do is drop a ethernet line to the demarc and hook it to a wireless router for internet distribution, while hooking a coaxial line to a splitter to be distributed to each STB (Motorola?). I don't know if Sasktel has the go-ahead yet for VOIP, so Sasktel would not even need to use the POTS line anymore (although Verizon keeps analog as an option).
DustinC is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 2007-03-06, 02:20 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Downtown Toronto • Toshiba 52XL177 • HD DVD Toshiba • Rogers HDPVR Cisco 8642
Posts: 2,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustinC View Post
I decided to wait until Sasktel goes FTTP (supposively by the end of the year).
SaskTel appears to be doing some pretty aggresive stuff with its IPTV product including 27 HD channels. But I'm not sure I'd hold my breath on FTTP. That is a very very expensive proposition and unsupportable as a business case for SaskTel at the moment. A more likely scenario is adding more nodes closer to customers to provide better signals and possibly more bandwidth. But FTTP is surely at least 3 years away in this market except, possibly, for a trial of a few hundred homes.
SensualPoet is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 2007-04-24, 01:46 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 5
There is already FTTP testing being done in Regina. I wish i was on that trial
sven is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 2007-04-24, 10:44 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Regina
Posts: 721
what is FTTP?
painter is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 2007-04-24, 11:44 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Regina, Sask
Posts: 75
Fibre to the premise, a fibre optic cable that runs to the back of the house.

Bill McMinn
BillMinRegina is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 2007-04-25, 02:16 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Downtown Toronto • Toshiba 52XL177 • HD DVD Toshiba • Rogers HDPVR Cisco 8642
Posts: 2,886
FTTP costs about $2000 per subscriber to deliver -- according Verizon Fios who are doing it in the US and indsutry watchers. FTTN (Fibre to the Node/Neighbourhood) is closer $700. Until the costs come down, FTTP will only be deployed in highly strategic and wealthy neighbourhoods. Plus the software and infrastructure is still in development. Give it another couple of years at least.
SensualPoet is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 2007-04-27, 02:22 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 5
SaskTel will first launch VDSL2 later this year, which will enable BW of just under 90Mhz to the house using pair (or port, depending on how you look at it) bonding. FTTP is still a few years away, but is in the future plans.
sven is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome