InfiNET and IPv6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2017-05-30, 10:31 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
InfiNET and IPv6

I have just been hooked up with InfiNET (and am bypassing the Pace router they provided by feeding straight into my pfSense router on vlan 1000), but I'm not sure how to get IPv6 hooked up with it. dhcp6 and SLAAC do not appear to be getting any addresses... Is there something else I should be doing?
Anaerin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2017-05-31, 07:03 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,941
I'm with Rogers, not InfiNET, but I am using pfSense. First question, are you getting an IPv6 address on the WAN interface? Also, the LAN has to be configured to track the WAN interface.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2017-05-31, 01:47 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,941
Here's some info from a Rogers Network Architect. It may be useful for you.

Rogers IPv6 Settings for pFSense firewall

In WAN Interface menu:

Use IPv4 connectivity as parent interface: yes
Request only a IPv6 prefix: no
DHCPv6 Prefix Delegation Size: 64
Send IPv6 prefix hint: yes

In LAN Interface menu:

IPv6 Configuration Type: track interface
IPv6 Interface: WAN
IPv6 Prefix ID: 0

One other thing you probably want is on the WAN page, select "Do not allow PD/Address release". This will keep your prefix from changing.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2017-06-02, 02:24 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Right now, the WAN interface isn't getting an IPv6 address through DHCP6c. I've tried both DHCP6 and SLAAC for configuration and neither seemed to work. I do currently have IPv6 connectivity through a HE.net tunnel, but I would obviously prefer to get it natively.

"Use IPv4 as parent interface" doesn't seem to make a difference on or off. And as I'm not getting an address (yet) "Do not allow PD/Address release" will do nothing. It really looks like there is no IPv6 connectivity on this line, which is annoying to say the least.
Anaerin is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2017-06-02, 10:05 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,941
If the WAN interface isn't getting an IPv6 address, then you won't get any for your LAN. The way many ISPs provided IPv6 is through DHCPv6-PD, which assigns a block of addresses or "prefix" for the local LAN. On Rogers, I get a /56 prefix, which I can then break down to 256 /64s. The do not allow release only keeps the prefix from changing. It won't make any difference if you haven't yet received a prefix.

The first thing you have to do is find out why you're not getting an IPv6 address on the WAN interface. Perhaps you should call the ISPs tech support.

Also, SaskTel has a community forum. You might find some answers there.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome