Alternatives to infiNet Actiontec router - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2013-09-01, 02:06 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Saskatoon, Sk.
Posts: 47
Thumbs up Alternatives to infiNet Actiontec router

Hi, In the "Fiber To The Premises" thread there is a discussion on how to replace the Sasktel Actiontec router. It's a bit pricey solution as a managed switch is required which costs about $200.00. Well, I just came across one that cost me $25.00 when I bought a used Linksys E2500 wireless router on Kijiji. After upgrading to latest firmware (1.0.07) I noticed that it had Vlan support. I checked Linsys release notes and sure enough Vlan configuration support was implemented in this firmware, great, awsome. This was really surprising as this is not a high end router. I set the WAN port on E2500 to Vlan 1000, connected this port directly to Sasktel ONT (no managed switch), connected a test PC to the Lan port and Bingo, E2500 was pulled a public IP and I had Internet access on the Test PC.

Hopefully someone finds this info usefull, also hopefully if someone else finds another router with Vlan support they will post it here.

Cheers to all.
dms100tech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2013-12-10, 03:19 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Asus RT-N56U Replacement for Actiontec

I'm using an Asus RT-N56U router. I have custom firmware from http://code.google.com/p/rt-n56u/downloads/list that supports vlan. I'm not sure if the stock firmware supports it or not. I just went to the WAN settings, enabled VLAN tagged traffic filter and set VLAN Internet VID to 1000 and plugged into the WAN port of the router and it works fine. I have yet to play with getting my SaskTel Max to work, but I don't imagine that will be too difficult.
deper29 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2014-01-08, 11:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Just curious if you got your SaskTel Max working with your RT-N56U
SasktelUser is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2014-06-09, 01:02 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 19
Asus RT-66U

I was able to replace the Sasktel provided router with an Asus RT-66U running Shibby's version of Tomato. I do not have TV or phone service with them.

crhiles is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2015-06-15, 08:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Will be getting Sasktel infinet and Max tv soon. What is the advantage to replacing the Actiontec router with another one.

Thank you
bobcat7 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2015-08-21, 07:29 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 68
Looking forward to having infiNET in my place this fall...like bobcat7, I'm wondering the benefits of replacing the Actiontec device?
I'm pretty sure my Linksys router has an appropriate VLAN setting I can set up at some point.

Thanks.

Panasonic 65" TC-P65VT60, Denon AVR-X2000, Terk HDTVa, Win8.1, Mac, Kodi
OddyOh is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome