SaskTel Max expansion - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 2010-02-08, 08:46 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 1,101
SaskTel Max expansion

looks like some new places will be getting max this year

Humboldt, martensville, warman, melville, melfort and Lloydminster in 2010

eight communities in 2011 (Canora, Esterhazy, Kamsack, Kindersley, Meadow Lake, Nipawin, Rosetown, Tisdale).


the other nice offshoot of this expansion is the 25mbps high speed tier will also become available in these towns
Tikker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 2010-02-09, 02:10 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 310
How about the software on the PVR??

Are they almost ready to leave the 90's?
pappcam is offline  
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 2010-02-11, 10:09 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 1,101
yup

looks like the ability to stream directly to a PC is being looked at as well
Tikker is offline  
 
post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 2010-02-11, 11:59 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tikker View Post
yup

looks like the ability to stream directly to a PC is being looked at as well
Does "looked at" mean this is going to be another 6-12 months or is it imminent?
pappcam is offline  
post #5 of 28 (permalink) Old 2010-02-11, 08:02 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 1,101
not sure to be honest

it's more a roadblock in terms of proving to content providers that it's feasible than a technical limitation
Tikker is offline  
post #6 of 28 (permalink) Old 2010-02-12, 07:30 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tikker View Post
not sure to be honest

it's more a roadblock in terms of proving to content providers that it's feasible than a technical limitation
Don't MTS and Telus already offer this service?

I'm not buying what you're selling.
pappcam is offline  
post #7 of 28 (permalink) Old 2010-02-13, 10:58 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 1,101
that's fine, I honestly don't care what you as an individual think

if you like the service, great

if you don't, that's fine too

everyone has something that's slightly different flavour for everyone
Tikker is offline  
post #8 of 28 (permalink) Old 2010-06-13, 12:06 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 1,101
August 28ish is the target date for the new media room middleware for the set top boxes.
Tikker is offline  
post #9 of 28 (permalink) Old 2010-06-14, 03:18 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 310
Sweet! Are they going to implement the multi-room part of it so I can watch PVR'ed content on any TV?
pappcam is offline  
post #10 of 28 (permalink) Old 2010-06-14, 05:13 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,698
I expect they would. Everyone that has implemented Mediaroom so far has included the multi-room feature - AT&T, MTS, Telus and Bell (beta).
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #11 of 28 (permalink) Old 2010-06-15, 12:16 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 1,101
yes it will come. no word on if it's going to come right at launch or what


also apparently there's a blackberry app already for doing all the remote record stuff (i can't remember if there's an iphone/ipod one or not, but if not, it's in the works)
Tikker is offline  
post #12 of 28 (permalink) Old 2010-06-16, 12:27 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 310
The only reason I ask about the multi-room is that in last month's Max brochure they actually mentioned the upgrade but there was no mention of multi-room features.

They mentioned series recording like they were cutting edge. Maybe in 1999 it would be.
pappcam is offline  
post #13 of 28 (permalink) Old 2010-06-17, 11:16 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 23
Well, of course the marketing material is going to have a spin to make it sound cutting edge. They don't want to portray it as catching up to everyone else, and that they've been lagging FAR behind the competition!
newalloy is offline  
post #14 of 28 (permalink) Old 2010-06-17, 03:01 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 1,101
Have you seen starchoices boxes? The original pace boxes at sasktel were miles ahead of the 505/530 they're using now.

Regardless the new middleware is great got to play with it earlier in the week.
Tikker is offline  
post #15 of 28 (permalink) Old 2010-07-29, 02:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Late summer on the middleware Mediaroom lauch day, SD replacement will be lauch too, new SD channel will be better picture as well.
xyf8012 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome