Pace Aspen TDC776D to be introduced - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 332 (permalink) Old 2008-11-19, 09:45 AM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Quote:
On Tuesday, November 18th, 2008, we are launching the new Pace Aspen in Calgary and Edmonton markets only.

Well was the speculation correct?



hugh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 332 (permalink) Old 2008-11-19, 10:03 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 139
Yes
For sale from Shaw only 498.00 until Jan 31.
Jason4653 is offline  
post #18 of 332 (permalink) Old 2008-11-19, 10:48 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Uxbridge, ON
Posts: 3,601
Yes, I have a combo eSATA/USB drive hooked up at home on a 775, works just fine.
travisc is offline  
 
post #19 of 332 (permalink) Old 2008-11-19, 12:56 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 732
Shaw web page for Calgary still shows Motorola boxes at $98, $298 and $498 respectively for digital, HD and HD PVR.
753951 is offline  
post #20 of 332 (permalink) Old 2008-11-19, 01:18 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 139
Quote:
Yes, I have a combo eSATA/USB drive hooked up at home on a 775, works just fine.
must be just the WD MyBooks then, as mine won't work, and a Pace technician said mine won't work.
Anyways, I don't want to get this thread off topic soo...
Chaotix is offline  
post #21 of 332 (permalink) Old 2008-11-19, 02:22 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,251
For discussion of eHDD, please see the following thread on Pace eHDD.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=85012

There's also the following thread on eHDDs on SA equipment, which indicates that certain drives will not work (see the links in post 1) and also that any drive that is not on 24/7 (like the MyBook) doesn't work with SA and may therefore not function properly with Pace, which is similar.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=23773

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #22 of 332 (permalink) Old 2008-11-19, 06:59 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 110
Confusion over Aspen?

http://www.pace.com/americas/newsroo...m.asp?id=10655

It's not entirely clear if Aspen is a new line of PVRs from Pace, or just a name given to the dual tuner HD PVR "Platform" built into a new version of the Tahoe TDC778X HD PVR that enables MPEG-4.
Roastbeef is offline  
post #23 of 332 (permalink) Old 2008-11-19, 07:29 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Edmonton, AB CA
Posts: 166
What are the chances of getting my current box replaced by this one? The 3416 I've had for the last month (which replaced my 6416) is terrible, even worse than the 6416 was.
koala is offline  
post #24 of 332 (permalink) Old 2008-11-19, 09:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
I have the old Motorola HD-PVR (160GB) from which I can download content via the Firewire port. Does anyone know if you can still do this using the Pace Tahoe? I doubt it, since it would likely require an entirely new driver, but thought I would ask. If not, I'll have to keep my old reliable Motorola.

Another question, I've noticed lately that although most HD content is "80 mbps", there are some HD programs which are "25 mbps". Is the lower bitrate content in MPEG2 or MP4 format? I didn't even know that the old 6416 PVR could play MP4 material (if this is the case).
Satviewer2000 is offline  
post #25 of 332 (permalink) Old 2008-11-19, 11:50 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 732
Tahoe is using same firewire drivers as Motorola. Still, people report limited success. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.

While both Moto and Pace boxes are impressive hardware wise, software support is half baked at best. I just wonder, if you take all worldwide markets, where they are selling them, combined, are even 60% of hardware features utilized?
753951 is offline  
post #26 of 332 (permalink) Old 2008-11-20, 12:14 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roastbeef View Post
[url]It's not entirely clear if Aspen is a new line of PVRs from Pace, or just a name given to the dual tuner HD PVR "Platform" built into a new version of the Tahoe TDC778X HD PVR that enables MPEG-4.
The TDC778X is not capable of decoding MPEG-4 content. As the press release mentions, the Aspen family of products are MPEG-4 capable. I am a little confused by what areas aren't clear to you. Could you please restate your question?

Thanks.

Linden Pace Americas, Inc. (note the views expressed here are my own and not necessarily those of Pace).
lindend is offline  
post #27 of 332 (permalink) Old 2008-11-20, 12:16 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by 753951 View Post
Tahoe is using same firewire drivers as Motorola.
This is incorrect. TV Guide is the only software that runs in both boxes.

Linden Pace Americas, Inc. (note the views expressed here are my own and not necessarily those of Pace).
lindend is offline  
post #28 of 332 (permalink) Old 2008-11-20, 10:54 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 732
I was talking about firewire device drivers for PC. Are you saying that you need different firewire device drivers for PC in order to download video from Tahoe to PC then ones for Motorola box? If that's the case would you mind point us in the right direction to download these drivers?
753951 is offline  
post #29 of 332 (permalink) Old 2008-11-20, 01:31 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 139
Hey it's lindend! Nice to see you here!

Quote:
I was talking about firewire device drivers for PC.
I think he read "firmware" (as did I the first time). You don't need different firewire drivers on your PC.

Lindend - For all that is holy - tell Shaw to do something with their firmware and their picture quality - your boxes deserve so much better.
Chaotix is offline  
post #30 of 332 (permalink) Old 2008-11-20, 05:13 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 110
Quote:
I am a little confused by what areas aren't clear to you. Could you please restate your question?
There is no info on any Aspen DRV anywhere on the website. Only the press release from May mentions anything to do with "Aspen", and it's not clear if and where it fits into the companies product matrix.
Roastbeef is offline  
Reply

Tags
aspen , pace , recording

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome